Thread: Future versions and developing...

Fanatic Member

Future versions and developing...

Hello,

I am a software developer for a global company. Our current HMI is written in Visual Basic 6. We tried converting to dot.net when Studio 2003 came out. Then...2005 came out...and now there is 2008. The change has been rapid and the changes from verison to version seem to be more than minor. Where does it end...or when will we see a stable version with only minor changes? I have heard rumors (not only here at my company) but on the Internet and companies not even going to dot.net because of the major changes from version to version and the extra memory costs....not mention performance problems.

Thanks!

I'm about to be a PowerPoster! kleinma's Avatar

Re: Future versions and developing...

birthjay, while I am sure someone from the MS team can chime in and give even more info, here are some important data points to consider:

.NET 1.1 (VS 2003) was the first major revision to the initial .NET release and was (IMO) the first .NET version that people got really serious with developing for.

.NET 2.0 (VS 2005) was a major improvement in many IDE related features as well as many syntax and language features. While there were some changes to consider when moving a project to 2.0 from 1.1, it was for the most part a pretty painless procedure.

Now of course we have .NET 3.5/VS 2008. One of the really nice features that is new to 2008, is the ability to backtarget past frameworks, but still use the 2008 IDE. This makes it easy to utilize the new IDE and its features, without forcing your projects to be upgraded past .NET 2.0 at the present time.

.NET 3.0 and 3.5 are built off of the core libraries of .NET 2.0, which is part of the reason they can offer this type of functionality.

Migrating applications to newer framework versions is also much less of a task than the initial migration from VB6 to .NET.

Birthjay -