Thread: Being a Programmer

Being a Programmer

I have a few questions. I'm 15 years old right now, Freshman in highschool. I have been programming for about two years now, and have enjoyed every ounce it has offered to me. Although the many times I have spent sitting infront of the screen yelling at a debugging program, it has definently been a great experience. I plan to continue this new found hobby and turn it into my career, but before I make any kind of choice like this I definently need alot of research so that I can be alot more firm on the subject.

What I am asking is for any current Programmers to share their experience and knowledge on what exactly you should know when planning on being a programmer. I know there are many different types, but in general what do most programmers know? Currently I know both VB6, and .NET, PHP, and am learning C++ at the moment. Also what would be the best route to take as a programmer? Meaning would it be better to freelance or actually work for a company? Over the past two years I have been making alot of random programs, mostly dealing with client to server situations. I just recently made a multi downloader for a specific site so that my friend wouldn't have to worry about going to each link. I just recently looked into freelancing and just setup an account for Guru.com. Iv'e been bidding for about a month now and have yet to get a project, so i'm obviously missing something.

Anyways, I just need some comments and suggestions from the Guru's, since I definently would love to continue with what I have been doing for the past two years
    Age - 15 ::: Level - Advanced
    If you find my post useful please ::Rate It::

Re: Being a Programmer

For freelancing I believe that having a niche - a particular business for instance - that you are an expert in, gives you much more credibility.

The languages you know aren't as important as the projects and groups you have worked with...