Thread: fastest database to use without Office

fastest database to use without Office

I am rather new to VB and need some basic help to get me going in the right direction.

I am developing a simple program that requires reading and writing to a small database or spreadsheet for calculations.

I am trying to avoid using Excel or Access for my database to keep the program simple and useable by those that may not have Office.

I am also trying to maintain speed and integrate a save and print feature.

I have a version of the program built now that uses Excel and works rather well, but a friend doesn't have Office and can't use the program.

I have noted that there are options for writing to an INI file or even a CSV file. Would either of these be ok for calculating similar to a spreadsheet?

Are there other options that I can try in this particular situation?

Thanks in advance for any help and ideas.
    Last edited by trethacker; Apr 22nd, 2006 at 12:21 AM. Reason: missed a detail

Re: fastest database to use without Office

for operations like calculations and storing the values database will be a better choice...and if your friend doesnt have office then you can export your report in a text file format which can be opened in any system...
    If an answer to your question has been helpful, then please, Rate it!

Have done Projects in Access and Member management systems using BioMetric devices, Smart cards and BarCodes.

Use Access as its not needed to be installed on a system in order to use the db as a back end of your program. Only MDAC is needed. Excel is not good for use as a db.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!