Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] problem with a checkbox

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    147

    Resolved [RESOLVED] problem with a checkbox

    ok i have a form that collects product information and then spits out html code for me so i dont have to do it.

    ok everything works great but one checkbox

    i have a tabcontrol and then all my boxes and input crap in them

    there is one checkbox i need default on and it just wont stay on. ive tried the properties, putting default to checked. i tried putting in the form load to check it.

    any other ideas or anyone knows why this thing wont check.

    any help appreciated.

    -JLR

  2. #2
    PowerPoster RhinoBull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Amsterdam
    Posts
    24,132

    Re: problem with a checkbox

    Quote Originally Posted by ikaris69
    ...any other ideas or anyone knows why this thing wont check...
    You're most definitely explicitly resetting the Value property.
    Search your module(s) for something like "Check1.Value = " and find all occurences.

  3. #3
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    33,427

    Re: problem with a checkbox

    Better yet, go to the Debug|Add Watch window and

    • Enter Form1.Check1.Value as the Expression
    • Select (All Procedures) as the Procedure
    • Select Form1 as the module
    • Select Break when value changes

    and run the program

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    147

    Re: problem with a checkbox

    hmm i dont have that under debug at the top right?

    im using visual basic 2005 express right now.

    sorry ima big noob

  5. #5
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    33,427

    Re: problem with a checkbox

    I don't remember VB5 that well and I'm not sure about the Express version but don't you have a Debug menu item on the same menu bar as File and Edit? If not then do View|Toolbars and check the Debug menu.

  6. #6
    Smooth Moperator techgnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    34,531

    Re: problem with a checkbox

    VB5 ???

    VB2005 ... different from VB5.... by about 10 years....

    MAybe this should be moved to the VB.NET forum instead?

    -tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    147

    Re: problem with a checkbox

    sweet i figured it out. but in my code i was having the form being filled out by the current array so when the form first load it fills it out with no values and so all i did was gave a default value of true to variable that was to go into the checkbox.

    thanks for your help guys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width