Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is my database too large for combobox??

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Tylertown Mississippi
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation

    My "comboName.AddItem" statement worked fine with a database of 21888 records. Now with 38801 records I get a run time error 5:

    "Some part of the call can't be completed.
    ·An argument probably exceeds the range of permitted values. For example, the Sin function can only accept values within a certain range. Positive arguments less than 2,147,483,648 are accepted, while 2,147,483,648 generates this error.

    Does anyone know a work around?

    THANX

  2. #2
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    125
    positive max integer is 32767

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    60
    Are you using some kind of counter to scroll through the records and then add the item in a specific place in the listbox, because the ListBox.ListIndex uses a Long Integer which has a much higher limit than 32767, just can't remember what it is now. If possible show some code.
    Barend
    JHB-SA

    Nothing is impossible, except skiing through a revolving door.

  4. #4
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,008

    Combo

    We need to see some code really. ListIndex is a Long which has a maximum value of 2,147,483,647.

    Cheers,

    Paul.
    Not nearly so tired now...

    Haven't been around much so be gentle...

  5. #5
    Frenzied Member monte96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Somewhere in AZ
    Posts
    1,379
    From a user-point of view, loading 38000+ records into a combo box is well... nuts.

    oOOo--oOOo
    __/\/\onte96
    oOOo--oOOo
    Senior Programmer/Analyst
    MCP
    monte96_@hotmail.com
    monte96@vbgarage.com


    Your results may vary.. some restrictions may apply.. pricing and participation may vary.. not available in all states.. professional driver closed course..quantities limited..

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    60
    I'd have to agree with Monte96, I'd rather put a command button next to the text box, which when clicked brings up another form with a datagrid, datacontrol, and search as you type text box. Second form then returns selected value to the first form. Works much quicker than running through 38000+ records in code to add to a combo box.
    Barend
    JHB-SA

    Nothing is impossible, except skiing through a revolving door.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width