Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: IExplorer does not load page [RESOLVED]

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    vbuggy krtxmrtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In a probability cloud
    Posts
    5,573

    Resolved IExplorer does not load page [RESOLVED]

    A few days ago my Internet Explorer failed to load a web page that it used to open without any problem. Now it just loads the headers but not the rest of the page, leaving it about 80% blank. There's no problem with other web pages.

    The page that's causing the trouble can be opened from other computers (having different versions of Windows and of IE).

    Anyone has any clue?
    Last edited by krtxmrtz; Sep 21st, 2004 at 07:44 AM.
    Lottery is a tax on people who are bad at maths
    If only mosquitoes sucked fat instead of blood...
    To do is to be (Descartes). To be is to do (Sartre). To be do be do (Sinatra)

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member Ideas Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,718
    Try clearing the cache and then opening the site.
    I use Microsoft Visual Basic 2005. (Therefore, most code samples I provide will be based around the .NET Framework v2.0, unless otherwise specified)

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    vbuggy krtxmrtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In a probability cloud
    Posts
    5,573
    Originally posted by Ideas Man
    Try clearing the cache and then opening the site.
    Didn't work.
    Lottery is a tax on people who are bad at maths
    If only mosquitoes sucked fat instead of blood...
    To do is to be (Descartes). To be is to do (Sartre). To be do be do (Sinatra)

  4. #4
    Frenzied Member Ideas Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,718
    Try refreshing it and pressing CTRL in the process, dunno if it will help. but sometimes it does, try multiple times.
    I use Microsoft Visual Basic 2005. (Therefore, most code samples I provide will be based around the .NET Framework v2.0, unless otherwise specified)

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    vbuggy krtxmrtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In a probability cloud
    Posts
    5,573
    That didn't work either. I'm wondering if I should try to install SP6. I think this NT station currently has SP5.
    Lottery is a tax on people who are bad at maths
    If only mosquitoes sucked fat instead of blood...
    To do is to be (Descartes). To be is to do (Sartre). To be do be do (Sinatra)

  6. #6
    Banned dglienna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Center of it all
    Posts
    17,901
    are cookies disabled? how about ActiveX controls?
    These will both stop pages from loading. Also, it maybe a pop-up.

  7. #7
    Frenzied Member Ideas Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,718
    I'd suggest you upgrade to SP6 reguardless.
    I use Microsoft Visual Basic 2005. (Therefore, most code samples I provide will be based around the .NET Framework v2.0, unless otherwise specified)

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    vbuggy krtxmrtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In a probability cloud
    Posts
    5,573
    SP6 didn't work either. I was considering saving all my data aside, formatting the HD and start everything from scratch.

    Then I thought it over and tried with Mozilla Firefox 1.0 and this time it worked.

    However I still don't know whom to lay the blame on, WinNT, IE, the web site... (but there were more sites that failed to load)
    Lottery is a tax on people who are bad at maths
    If only mosquitoes sucked fat instead of blood...
    To do is to be (Descartes). To be is to do (Sartre). To be do be do (Sinatra)

  9. #9
    Banned dglienna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Center of it all
    Posts
    17,901
    still think that it's activex or cookie blocker. is there virus software on the machine? trend micro has a free online virus scanner, and m$ has links to ad aware and search and destroy on their website.

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    vbuggy krtxmrtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In a probability cloud
    Posts
    5,573
    mmm... I have AdAware installed and working on another machine and I'm quite happy with it. I'm gonna try it on the NT machine and we'll see...
    Lottery is a tax on people who are bad at maths
    If only mosquitoes sucked fat instead of blood...
    To do is to be (Descartes). To be is to do (Sartre). To be do be do (Sinatra)

  11. #11
    Banned dglienna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Center of it all
    Posts
    17,901
    try it from safe mode to see if it is some kind of conflict. my problems were a conflicting driver. everything worked fine in safe mode, though.

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    vbuggy krtxmrtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In a probability cloud
    Posts
    5,573
    Happy again

    AdAware did the trick.
    Lottery is a tax on people who are bad at maths
    If only mosquitoes sucked fat instead of blood...
    To do is to be (Descartes). To be is to do (Sartre). To be do be do (Sinatra)

  13. #13
    PowerPoster Halsafar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK
    Posts
    2,339
    i love adaware
    "From what was there, and was meant to be, but not of that was faded away." - - Steve Damm

    "The polar opposite of nothingness is existance. When existance calls apon nothingness it shall return to nothingness." - - Steve Damm

    "When you do things right, people won't be sure if you did anything at all." - - God from Futurama

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width