Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: host file

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Banned jhermiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Antarctica
    Posts
    2,492

    host file

    I setup vpn at my own office.

    I want to know what file i need to modify so I can look at shares through the server name rather than the ip address.

    I hate typing \\192.168.1.101\blah\

    I would rather be able to type \\sun\blah\

    What windows file do I need to modify to accomplish this.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4,787
    couldnt you use no-ip? that dynamic ip thing?

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Banned jhermiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Antarctica
    Posts
    2,492
    Originally posted by Pino
    couldnt you use no-ip? that dynamic ip thing?
    Thats not my question

    Im referring to vpn not http or ftp.

    I am referring to when I vpn and use say my computer or explorer
    (not internet explorer) I want to go directly to a machine like \\Sun

    and not the ip addy. I know what you are reffering to, you are talking about having a DNS set automatically to know my DHCP IP that has been assigned to me. That is not the issue at hand.

    Jon

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4,787
    Originally posted by jhermiz
    Thats not my question

    Im referring to vpn not http or ftp.

    I am referring to when I vpn and use say my computer or explorer
    (not internet explorer) I want to go directly to a machine like \\Sun

    and not the ip addy. I know what you are reffering to, you are talking about having a DNS set automatically to know my DHCP IP that has been assigned to me. That is not the issue at hand.

    Jon
    sorry

  5. #5
    Banned dglienna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Center of it all
    Posts
    17,901
    I assume that you already tried it? Are you going through a firewall or a router? Locally, both work fine.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Banned jhermiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Antarctica
    Posts
    2,492
    Originally posted by dglienna
    I assume that you already tried it? Are you going through a firewall or a router? Locally, both work fine.
    Of course argh i mean yes...

    There is something to configure i just forget how...
    there should be some hosts file in winders somewhere

    Ill keep searching.

  7. #7
    I'm about to be a PowerPoster! mendhak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Ulaan Baator GooGoo: Frog
    Posts
    38,174
    Map a drive to it.

  8. #8
    VBA Nutter visualAd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Ickenham, UK
    Posts
    4,907
    The LAN you are connecting to should have a DNS server or a WINS server. For share names you need to find out what the IP address is for the WINS server.


    As a temporary hack you can modify the lmhosts file on your windows machince. By adding the line to the file:

    \winnt\system32\drivers\etc\lmhosts

    192.168.1.101 sun
    PHP || MySql || Apache || Get Firefox || OpenOffice.org || Click || Slap ILMV || 1337 c0d || GotoMyPc For FREE! Part 1, Part 2

    | PHP Session --> Database Handler * Custom Error Handler * Installing PHP * HTML Form Handler * PHP 5 OOP * Using XML * Ajax * Xslt | VB6 Winsock - HTTP POST / GET * Winsock - HTTP File Upload

    Latest quote: crptcblade - VB6 executables can't be decompiled, only disassembled. And the disassembled code is even less useful than I am.

    Random VisualAd: Blog - Latest Post: When the Internet becomes Electricity!!


    Spread happiness and joy. Rate good posts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width