Thread: Urgent!!! Anyone know a brief history of VB?

Well i'm just new here...and i'm not really into vb programmiong. sorry about that. but i'm just a student and i need everybody's help with my report. i'm going to talk about the variations of each release of VB...from VB 1.0 to VB 6.0. I need everybody's help here and it's urgent. Please notify me right away...thanx in advance.

The only history of VB I know is that it was originally intended to be more of a hobbyist programming language than applications programming. VB started as 16-bit but went to a 16-bit/32-bit split in VB4. VB5 was the first all 32-bit of VB. VB6 introduced the ADO as an alternative to DAOs.

Personal opinion:
    VB3 was OK
    VB4 SUCKED!!!!
    VB5 was good
    VB6 is GREAT!!

Sorry I can't help too much. Some of the other guys and gals probably can explain it better. Let me know if I can help with anything.

Lloyd
    ltbraden@home.com
    ltbraden@bellsouth.net
    ext2ltb@air.ups.com

Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar

It's not much, but I found this link via Yahoo. http://www.cob.eku.edu/cis/kearns/vbCh1/tsld002.htm

------------------
    Marty

[This message has been edited by MartinLiss (edited 11-09-1999).]

hiya guys! thanx for the help. the two helped a lot particularly that of Lloyd. I already have the url Marty gave before but i appreciated that. thanx guys. u r the best.

No Problem VBer, glad I could help out.

Lloyd

[This message has been edited by Lloyd (edited 11-10-1999).]

I assume that you already have contacted Mr. Gates

Addicted Member

Hi.
    I've been using VB5 EnterPr. Ver. for more than 2 years. Now I've been offered, can you pass it , VB6 Enterpr. Ver. too.

As far as I know, there isn't much diff. between them. Any comments??

Also, any recommendations/tips in what keep in mind when it comes to all the projects I have made with VB5 after upgrading???

Thanx all.

>onerrorgoto: have u contacted Mr. Gates