Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: [RESOLVED] [2008] Can I add a TCPClient Component

Addicted Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] [2008] Can I add a TCPClient Component

Im learning Tcp communication right now, and Im a newbie :P
    First can i add a component to the form for tcpclient and tcpserver like a add one for a textbox and a botton?

Second, which method is better
    Dim listener As Net.Sockets.TcpListener
    Dim listenThread As Threading.Thread

or Dim tcpClient As New System.Net.Sockets.TcpClient()

what should i use?

Re: [2008] Can I add a TCPClient Component

It matters what you are trying to accomplish with your program. Do you want the listener on a different thread?

"First can i add a component to the form for tcpclient and tcpserver like a add one for a textbox and a botton?"

Do you mean drag and drop?

Addicted Member

yes i mean drag and drop
    and what i want to do is 2 simple programs that send strings to each others.

The TcpClient is not a control that can be dragged onto the form, its a class of which you create an instance at runtime and use however you want.
    Rate posts that helped you. I do not reply to PM's with coding questions.
    How to Get Your Questions Answered
    Current project: tunaOS
    Me on.. BitBucket, Google Code, Github (pretty empty)

Addicted Member

ok, now can somone give me the simplest example possible :P
    Please
    Client:
    How To connect
    Send Data
    Recieve Data

Server:
    How To listen
    Send Data
    Receive Data

Ive searched the form and google, but Im not understanding the code :S
    I need something very simple

There are so many examples all over this forum, it shouldnt be needed to create yet another one.

The MSDN Library documentation contains examples too. Have you read the documentation?