Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Opening a PDF Page

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Kezmondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    166

    Red face Opening a PDF Page

    I need to use VB to open a PDF document and jump to a particular page within it.

    I can view a PDF document by opening the Reader using ShellExecute, or by using the ActiveX control pdf.ocx but have no idea about specifying a page to jump to.

    Can this be done, any ideas?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    marietta, ga
    Posts
    17
    eeewwwww...don't do it that way....if you have Acrobat and not the reader then just click on Project/References then attach the Adobe Acrobat Type Library and then from adobe.com get their SDK. I have been working with it for almost 6 months now and there is a lot you can do but if you really wanna start working with PDF's then you will need to start using Visual C++. Also, the Java interface with Acrobat 5 will let you do a lot of things. The SDK also covers that.

    Have fun and good luck!
    -Jb Freels
    Data Processing Sup.
    Layton Graphics, Inc.

    The nice thing about standards is that
    there are so many to choose from.

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Kezmondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    166
    Cheers, but it must be VB and I can only use Reader.
    I have looked at the SDK and it's pretty much C++ orientated - I'm looking for something simple - the only operation I need to carry out is to open a document ona certain page.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    marietta, ga
    Posts
    17
    hehe....look in the IAC section that is the VB and java with VB section. Seriously..to open a document and go to a certin page is easy.
    -Jb Freels
    Data Processing Sup.
    Layton Graphics, Inc.

    The nice thing about standards is that
    there are so many to choose from.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Kezmondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    166
    Aha, the old setCurrentPage function of the ActiveX control seems to do the trick!

    Not sure I like having the document embedded in a form but it's a start.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    marietta, ga
    Posts
    17
    uuuhhhhh......thats not what I wanted you to get into....you can control the real acrobat from a VB front-end....I don't really wanna spell it out for you because you say that you got the SDK and all the information is in there BUT.....do something like this:

    Start a new project then click on Project/References then check the Adobe Acrobat 5.0 Type library

    Then hit F2 to bring up your object browser then select Acrobat as the object to view then look at the CAcroAVPageView.

    Its easy to use and here is a little code to get you started:
    '----------------------------------------
    Private Sub Form_Load()

    Dim AcroApp As CAcroApp
    Dim AVDoc As CAcroAVDoc
    Dim PDDoc As CAcroPDDoc
    Dim AVPage As CAcroAVPageView
    Dim PDPage As CAcroPDPage
    Dim pNum As Long
    Dim IsSuccess As Boolean

    Set AcroApp = CreateObject("AcroExch.App")
    Set AVDoc = CreateObject("AcroExch.AVDoc")

    Set AVDoc = AcroApp.GetActiveDoc
    Set PDDoc = AVDoc.GetPDDoc
    Set AVPage = AVDoc.GetAVPageView
    Set PDPage = PDDoc.AcquirePage(AVPage.GetPageNum)

    AcroApp.Show 'lets make sure it doesn't hide acrobat on us

    If AVDoc.IsValid Then
    AVPage.GoTo 2 'put whatever page you wanna goto there but keep in mind
    ' that page 1 is 0
    End If

    'Un-comment these lines to close acrobat and clear everything out
    'Close the PDF
    'AVDoc.Close True
    'AcroApp.Exit

    'Cleanup
    'Set PDDoc = Nothing
    'Set AVDoc = Nothing
    'Set AcroApp = Nothing
    End

    End Sub
    '----------------------------------------

    Open a document with atleast 3 pages then run this code.
    Now look at your open document...it should be on page three
    -Jb Freels
    Data Processing Sup.
    Layton Graphics, Inc.

    The nice thing about standards is that
    there are so many to choose from.

  7. #7
    PowerPoster rjlohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    3,205
    I am trying to work with PDF files, and I have the SDK.

    In my project I have set a reference to the Adobe Acrobat 5.0 Type Library,

    but at the line:
    Set AcroApp = CreateObject("AcroExch.App")
    Set AVDoc = CreateObject("AcroExch.AVDoc")

    I get an ActiveX can't create object error. Now I know what this error means etc. But I have set the reference, so why is this happening?
    -----------------------------------------
    -RJ
    rjlohan@alumni.uts.edu.au
    -----------------------------------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width