Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Putting text from a textbox into a richtextbox

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    48

    Putting text from a textbox into a richtextbox

    Okay, so i am developing this program, where you fill in the details and when you press create it pops up a window that had a bunch of code with the correct details from the textboxes in the code?

    So Say if it asks for my IP address, i enter the IP address, and when i click create the next window will have the code with my IP in the code.

    When i enter the details, i want the details to be entered inside of here:


    <object classid="clsid:166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab#version=8,5,1,0" id="habbo" width="720" height="540">
    <param name="src" value="TEXTBOX4">
    <param name="swRemote" value="swSaveEnabled='true' swVolume='true' swRestart='false' swPausePlay='false' swFastForward='false' swTitle='Habbo Hotel' swContextMenu='true' ">
    <param name="swStretchStyle" value="none">
    <param name="swText" value="">
    <param name="bgColor" value="#000000">
    <param name="sw6" value="external.texts.txt=TEXTBOX6">
    <param name="sw2" value="connection.info.host=TEXTBOX1;connection.info.port=TEXTBOX3">
    <param name="sw4" value="connection.mus.host=game.habbohotel.nl;connection.mus.port=30001">
    <param name="sw3" value="client.reload.url=TEXTBOX2">
    <param name="sw1" value="site.url=http://www.habbohotel.nl;url.prefix=http://www.habbohotel.nl">
    <param name="sw5" value="external.variables.txt=TEXTBOX5">
    <embed src="TEXTBOX4" bgColor="#000000" width="720" height="540" swRemote="swSaveEnabled='true' swVolume='true' swRestart='false' swPausePlay='false' swFastForward='false' swTitle='Habbo Hotel' swContextMenu='true'" swStretchStyle="none" swText="" type="application/x-director" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/" sw6="external.texts.txt=TEXTBOX6" sw2="connection.info.host=TEXTBOX1;connection.info.port=TEXTBOX3" sw4="connection.mus.host=game.habbohotel.nl;connection.mus.port=30001" sw3="client.reload.url=TEXTBOX2" sw1="site.url=http://www.habbohotel.co.uk;url.prefix=http://www.habbohotel.co.uk" sw5="external.variables.txt=TEXTBOX5" >
    </embed>
    </object>


    So this would be in the RichTextBox on the loader.vb window and when i click create on the Form1.vb it enters the info from Form1.vb into the RichTextBox in Loader.vb how can i do this?

  2. #2
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maldon, Essex. UK
    Posts
    6,334

    Re: Putting text from a textbox into a richtextbox

    The simplest way might be to put the html, exactly as you've posted it above into a file, read the file into your program, use the Replace Function to replace the text 'TEXTBOX1' etc with the values from the textboxes, then put the modified data into the rtb on the loader form.
    Code:
    Option Explicit
    
    Private Sub cmdCreate_Click()
    Dim intFile As Integer
    Dim strFile As String
    Dim strData As String
    loader.rtb.Text = vbNullString
    intFile = FreeFile
    strFile = "C:\MyDir\Myhtml.txt"
    Open strFile For Input As intFile
    strData = Input(LOF(intFile), intFile)
    Close intFile
    strData = Replace(strData, "TEXTBOX1", txt1.Text)
    strData = Replace(strData, "TEXTBOX2", txt2.Text)
    strData = Replace(strData, "TEXTBOX3", txt3.Text)
    strData = Replace(strData, "TEXTBOX4", txt4.Text)
    strData = Replace(strData, "TEXTBOX5", txt5.Text)
    strData = Replace(strData, "TEXTBOX6", txt6.Text)
    loader.rtb.Text = strData
    loader.Show
    End Sub

  3. #3
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    14,205

    Re: Putting text from a textbox into a richtextbox

    Actually it seems that this is for VB.Net as VB6 and earlier do not use names like Form1.VB and Loader.VB. A lot of VB6 code will work in VB.Net but these are not the methods that should be used when working in VB.Net

    The concept of loading from the file is sound. In VB.Net you can use any one of several different methods to read the file then place it into the textbox. ReadAllText may be the option you would want to use. Also note that in VB6 you can pass a filename to the RTB control and it will load the file for you, not sure if this is an option in VB.Net or not but I would think it is.

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maldon, Essex. UK
    Posts
    6,334

    Re: Putting text from a textbox into a richtextbox

    Looking at OP's recent posts they've all been in the .net forums. Should have checked before responding, although the logic suggested may still be sound. The implementation, however, may be different.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: Putting text from a textbox into a richtextbox

    Quote Originally Posted by Doogle View Post
    Looking at OP's recent posts they've all been in the .net forums. Should have checked before responding, although the logic suggested may still be sound. The implementation, however, may be different.
    Im sorry for posting in the wrong section as to i canno't fint the correct section.
    You guys have always helped me in this section. i wont post here anymore.
    but thanks for the help.

  6. #6
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    14,205

    Re: Putting text from a textbox into a richtextbox

    You should be posting here http://www.vbforums.com/forumdisplay...ual-Basic-.NET
    for questions related to VB versions newer than 1998

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width