Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member eusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71

    Question Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    I'm trying to use this from the codebank.

    I've put the AutoUpdaterX.ocx and MSINET.ocx controls on the form and a control button to ctlUpdate1.Update

    So what am I doing wrong? I've set the file URL in the remoteEXE property on the .ocx OK (100% it's correct).

    Ideas on a postcard plase

    Steve

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member Jmacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,959

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    whats the line its stopping at?

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member eusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    It's stopping on
    VB Code:
    1. ctlUpdate1.Update
    So I'm guessing it's something in the .ocx or something I'm not doing right

    Steve

  4. #4
    Frenzied Member Jmacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,959

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Quote Originally Posted by eusty
    It's stopping on
    VB Code:
    1. ctlUpdate1.Update
    So I'm guessing it's something in the .ocx or something I'm not doing right

    Steve
    put a breakpoint at ctlUpdate1.Update, you'll need to add the usercontrol to your project to be able to do this, not the compiled ocx itself, then just run through it till you find the 'real' line thats causing the error.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member eusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Added the control to usercontrols and removed the .ocx, but I get a compile error on
    VB Code:
    1. ctlUpdate1.Update
    So I guess it's not being referenced somehow.

    Sorry for sounding such a nooob, I've only been using VB for a few months and this is the first time I've come across usercontrols (TBH I still don't know what they are......uncompiled .ocx?)
    Steve

    No trees were cut down or harmed in the posting of this message. A lot of electrons were, however, severely inconvenienced.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member eusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Ok stick with me...please!!

    Sorted where I was going wrong, hopefully I'm getting the hang of this slowly...

    VB Code:
    1. Dim fsoFile As File
    Is where the error is in the Usercontrol.
    'User defined type not defined' is the error, so I guess 'File' should be defined somewhere?
    Steve

    No trees were cut down or harmed in the posting of this message. A lot of electrons were, however, severely inconvenienced.

  7. #7
    Frenzied Member Jmacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,959

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Quote Originally Posted by eusty
    Ok stick with me...please!!

    Sorted where I was going wrong, hopefully I'm getting the hang of this slowly...

    VB Code:
    1. Dim fsoFile As File
    Is where the error is in the Usercontrol.
    'User defined type not defined' is the error, so I guess 'File' should be defined somewhere?

    no thats not the error, you need to add a reference to the microsoft scripting runtime.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member eusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    VB Code:
    1. Set fsoFile = FSO.GetFile(strFileName)

    strFileName is the remote file with http:// stripped

    Looking at the variables, the local file is 'C:/Program ...VB6.exe' so I guess that's why it can't find the file.

    But going back and adding the scripting runtime to the project with the .ocx and running it again still gives the runtime error 53.

    Give me ladder logic anyday!!
    Last edited by eusty; Jan 15th, 2006 at 08:09 PM.
    Steve

    No trees were cut down or harmed in the posting of this message. A lot of electrons were, however, severely inconvenienced.

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member eusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Right....

    If I try to update with local file (file://) then it's ok, but still get the same error 53 when trying over the internet.

    Tried a couple of servers, but still the same.

    So it isn't the .ocx code as such...so where am I going wrong?
    Steve

    No trees were cut down or harmed in the posting of this message. A lot of electrons were, however, severely inconvenienced.

  10. #10
    Frenzied Member Jmacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,959

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    i didn't know you could use GetFile to 'get' remote files so will need to pass. i think it is the coding thats at fault.

  11. #11

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member eusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Gave up and used this instead!!
    Steve

    No trees were cut down or harmed in the posting of this message. A lot of electrons were, however, severely inconvenienced.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    25

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Hi All,

    i am facing this error as well, when i open a .vbp to run is fine, but when i run the .exe file that i build it from this error will appear.

    any expect can help.

    Regards
    Steve

  13. #13
    PowerPoster Arnoutdv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5,872

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Just a blind guess, because of the destination path?

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    25

    Re: Runtime Error 53 'file not found'

    Quote Originally Posted by Arnoutdv View Post
    Just a blind guess, because of the destination path?
    Thanks PMArnoutdv,

    i solved it by disable some read ini function which is not needed now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width