Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FileCopy.. path/file access error

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    168

    Thumbs down FileCopy.. path/file access error

    Everytime I try to copy a file from a network to my local drive or another networked computer I get an error saying:

    Run-time error: 75
    Path/File access error


    I can drag the file across using windows explorer so its not a rights issue. Any ideas?

    code:
    FileCopy "\\myserver\images\1.jpg", "\\myserver2\images\1.jpg"

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member jjortiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,768
    See if you can access those paths manually. Type the source in the run line and see if you have access. Then check the the destination if it allows you to write to it.

  3. #3
    Frenzied Member jjortiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,768
    I just tested it here from one server to the next and it worked fine. with the only difference that the source was going through the share and the destination was going directly to the drive no share.

  4. #4
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Or
    Posts
    316
    I might be mistaken, but I believe that FileCopy requires that you have a drive associated with your network paths. (ie. E:/ or Q:/) I don't think thta it resolves UNC. If this is a problem, (because the server is mapped to different drives on different machines), I know that there are quite a few examples on how to retrieve the UNC path form a drives list.

    Anyway, just a thought.

  5. #5
    Frenzied Member jjortiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,768
    I just tested it with UNC and it works fine. Does not even need the drive. It does resolve.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    168
    I got it, thanks for the help!

  7. #7
    Frenzied Member jjortiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,768
    No Problem. It works with the UNC path right. Now i bet it was a wrong path or security. Come on tell me.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    168
    Actually you are right, the UNC path does work. However that was not the problem I was having... the example I posted was incorrect.. I was trying to do this:

    FileCopy "\\server1\1.jpg", "\\server2"

    .. for some reason you MUST specify the destination filename also. I looked it up in the knowledge base and its a known issue.

    so.. FileCopy "\\server1\1.jpg", "\\server2\1.jpg" works.

    Thanks again,
    Thai

  9. #9
    TheSarlacc
    Guest
    they say u learn something everyday, well, i just did! i had tried doing that, and it didnt work. now i know y! thx ppls!

  10. #10
    Frenzied Member jjortiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,768
    Sorry that i forgot to metion that. Yes you need to give it a filename. If you use the FSO you do not have to specify any file name it will take the one of the file being copied.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width