dcsimg
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,794

    This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    When I do a "Reply with Quote", and then I click on "Post Quick Reply", it goes into Advance mode, and I get this message:
    Code:
    The following errors occurred with your submission
    This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts. Please try again in 29 seconds.
    When I look at the thread, I see my message is already posted

    It's a nice feature to have "wait 30 seconds between posts", but I don't think it's working properly... I didn't click twice... I just clicked on "Post Quick Reply"

  2. #2
    King of sapila
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    5,625

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Yeah it's been here for months. Just click the back button for now.
    Slow as hell.

  3. #3
    Sinecure devotee
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Southern Tier NY
    Posts
    5,744

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Actually over a year.
    As an alternative, you can just select "Go Advance" when you choose to reply. Submitting from the Advance won't trigger the go to advance transition after submitting.
    "Anyone can do any amount of work, provided it isn't the work he is supposed to be doing at that moment" Robert Benchley, 1930

  4. #4
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,069

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Still not sure if the guys upstairs will ever fix this....

    If it'll make you feel better the site staff is exempt from the thirty second rule. Most of the time all of our posts get duplicated and we have to delete one

  5. #5
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,069

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Still not sure if the guys upstairs will ever fix this....

    If it'll make you feel better the site staff is exempt from the thirty second rule. Most of the time all of our posts get duplicated and we have to delete one

  6. #6
    Super Moderator FunkyDexter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    An obscure body in the SK system. The inhabitants call it Earth
    Posts
    7,502

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    ^Like that.

    I've almost banned myself as a spammer while deleting my duplicate posts
    You can depend upon the Americans to do the right thing. But only after they have exhausted every other possibility - Winston Churchill

    Hadoop actually sounds more like the way they greet each other in Yorkshire - Inferrd

  7. #7
    Sinecure devotee
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Southern Tier NY
    Posts
    5,744

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    I assumed "that duplication" was left on purpose, for illustration.
    "Anyone can do any amount of work, provided it isn't the work he is supposed to be doing at that moment" Robert Benchley, 1930

  8. #8
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,069

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    DING DING DING - Ladies and Gentlemen - We have a WINNER

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    34,706

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    He also got lucky, because duplication only happens about 60-70% of the time. Every now and then, I just post the Quick Reply to see whether or not duplication happens. When it doesn't, I get hopeful....then disappointed. It always ends in disappointment. Maybe someday it won't.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,709

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaggy Hiker View Post
    He also got lucky, because duplication only happens about 60-70% of the time. Every now and then, I just post the Quick Reply to see whether or not duplication happens. When it doesn't, I get hopeful....then disappointed. It always ends in disappointment. Maybe someday it won't.
    I think it has to do with the content you are posting. If it has certain formatting tags then it dups.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,709

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaggy Hiker View Post
    He also got lucky, because duplication only happens about 60-70% of the time. Every now and then, I just post the Quick Reply to see whether or not duplication happens. When it doesn't, I get hopeful....then disappointed. It always ends in disappointment. Maybe someday it won't.
    I think it has to do with the content you are posting. If it has certain formatting tags then it dups.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    34,706

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    If you use HIGHLIGHT tags, it ALWAYS dups. Other than that, I have not been able to see any pattern of any sort. If you've seen one, let me know.

    After all, you generally can't duplicate in Chit-Chat (or else the Post Race would be even more insane), unless you use HIGHLIGHT tags. I use either no tags, CODE tags, or QUOTE tags, and see no pattern to duplication.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  13. #13
    PowerPoster techgnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    32,722

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    I suspect that if it hasn't been fixed by now, it's never going to be fixed.

    -tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

  14. #14
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,709

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaggy Hiker View Post
    If you use HIGHLIGHT tags, it ALWAYS dups. Other than that, I have not been able to see any pattern of any sort. If you've seen one, let me know.

    After all, you generally can't duplicate in Chit-Chat (or else the Post Race would be even more insane), unless you use HIGHLIGHT tags. I use either no tags, CODE tags, or QUOTE tags, and see no pattern to duplication.
    I use quote tag and its dup'd but only sometimes. Maybe because I use teh color tag too?
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  15. #15
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,709

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaggy Hiker View Post
    If you use HIGHLIGHT tags, it ALWAYS dups. Other than that, I have not been able to see any pattern of any sort. If you've seen one, let me know.

    After all, you generally can't duplicate in Chit-Chat (or else the Post Race would be even more insane), unless you use HIGHLIGHT tags. I use either no tags, CODE tags, or QUOTE tags, and see no pattern to duplication.
    I use quote tag and its dup'd but only sometimes. Maybe because I use teh color tag too?
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  16. #16
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,709

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    There it is dup'ing with a quote and a color tag in QR
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  17. #17
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    34,706

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Just tried it out in the test area, and didn't get a duplicate with a quote, or a quote and color.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  18. #18
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,709

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaggy Hiker View Post
    Just tried it out in the test area, and didn't get a duplicate with a quote, or a quote and color.
    Guess its just for me then. Im working twice as hard as anyone else.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Sabattus
    Posts
    53

    Re: This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts

    I get the 30 second wait too. Even if I haven't posted in 10 hours.
    I just ignore it.

    I just go back to the original thread and my post is there.

    Defiantly a bug or issue with the forum settings.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width