dcsimg

Thread: Packet sniffer .net for secret messages (Need help, i'm stupid)

Angry Packet sniffer .net for secret messages (Need help, i'm stupid)

Dear reader(s),

I had an idea to create an application that pings to an ip with an secret message (in this case my ip) (Have already made this)
    With wireshark if i filter it correctly i can see the secret message and where it came from.
    And i want to make another application application on the pinged pc that reveals the secret message, just like wireshark.

I have no experience with pinging and intercepting packets with vb.net.
    Is there someone who can make an simple application that intercepts packets from an specific Source 000.00.000.00 (with source code please and in vb.net, i suck at c#)
    to an specific destination 192.168.0.25

and shows the secret message.

picture from wireshark:
    Name:  help.jpg
Views: 257
Size:  14.3 KB

Sorry for being stupid

Kind regrets,
    Panda
    Last edited by babypandah; Jul 26th, 2019 at 07:35 AM.

Re: Packet sniffer .net for secret messages (Need help, i'm stupid)

It sounds like you are really just talking about sending messages between computers. That's how TCP or UDP would work. I don't see what is different about what you are doing from standard networking.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

As Shaggy Hiker noted, it sounds like network connection between applications on same or different computers.

It can be done the hard and long way by implementing own server and client code with all the problems that may occur and will require troubleshooting and fixing.

Another very simple way is to use intermediate service using publish-subscribe pattern. For example such service is provided by NATS and Redis servers, which both work very well under Windows (well, Redis runs old 3.2.x version), but also can be installed on other operating systems.