dcsimg
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: copy & paste large microsoft access database

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    7

    copy & paste large microsoft access database

    Sorry if this is in the wrong forum.....

    I have an old VB5 program that has a fairly large microsoft access database file.

    I'm installing my program into a new computer, and want to copy over my database file. It has about 4000 lines of records.
    When I copy and paste the database file, only about 3000 lines of the records are there.

    Is this file too large to copy/paste...??

    Is is working good in my program.....just can't copy it over to my new computer.

    Thanks in advance,

    Gordon

  2. #2

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    7

    Re: copy & paste large microsoft access database

    ok, this is going to sound stupid.....

    I have found that when I copy and paste the file, it is not copying the proper information.
    Part of the database has labor rates. When I check the labor rate in the now copied file, it has a rate from a couple years ago.

    So it seems that it is copying a file that is 2 years old instead of my current file, and that is why part of my records are missing, they are 2 years old.

    How is this possible...????????

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    --
    Gordon

  3. #3
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    41,144

    Re: copy & paste large microsoft access database

    If the database file is stored in a protected location (such as Program Files) then in modern versions of Windows it will be subject to virtualisation, so the current version of the file won't actually exist there - only the original one.

    Virualised files are stored in: %LocalAppData%\VirtualStore
    https://devblogs.microsoft.com/oldne...02-00/?p=91681

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    7

    Re: copy & paste large microsoft access database

    What is considered a modern version of Windows...??

    My old computer has Windows 7 Home edition.
    If I copy my database file from the program, paste it on desktop of the same computer, and open it up.....the file is not showing the current information.

    I need to copy this file over to my new computer (windows 10) and be able to run it from there.....but I need the current information.

    Thanks for the reply,

    Gordon

  5. #5
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    41,144

    Re: copy & paste large microsoft access database

    In this case "modern" means Vista or later, so it does apply to Windows 7.

    You haven't given an indication of which folder it is in, but assuming it is inside ProgramFiles or similar, open Explorer and enter %LocalAppData%\VirtualStore in the address bar, then find the file in there.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    7

    Re: copy & paste large microsoft access database

    thank you......thank you....thank you....

    So are you saying that my database file updates itself while being used at %LocalAppData%\VirtualStore, and not in my ProgramFiles folder....??

    Here I have been saving a copy of my database every few months, copying it from ProgramFiles folder. Been doing this for years, but never needed to use them.

    --
    Gordon

  7. #7
    PowerPoster Zvoni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    To the moon and then left
    Posts
    1,908

    Re: copy & paste large microsoft access database

    Quote Originally Posted by GordonMcIntyre View Post
    thank you......thank you....thank you....

    So are you saying that my database file updates itself while being used at %LocalAppData%\VirtualStore, and not in my ProgramFiles folder....??

    Here I have been saving a copy of my database every few months, copying it from ProgramFiles folder. Been doing this for years, but never needed to use them.

    --
    Gordon
    In that case: Congratulations.
    You got away with a grazing shot.
    Since Vista it's a bad idea to store any user-files in Program Files (especially if those files have to be written to).
    AppData if it's just for that particular User
    ProgramData if it needs to be machine-wide independant of the logged in user
    One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
    One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
    in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    People call me crazy because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine airplanes.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    For health reasons i try to avoid reading unformatted Code

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width