dcsimg
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] Visual Component Manager

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    326

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Visual Component Manager

    I have "Visual Component Manager" set to load on startup. When I launch VB6, something called "Data View" throws a weird error. I get an error "Method '~' of object '~' failed". If I disable Visual Component Manager no more error.

    The error doesn't seem to cause any problems that I can find.

    But my question - Do I need Visual Component Manager?
    Do I need "Data View"? If so, how do I fix this?
    Thanks for any help.


    Name:  1.jpg
Views: 135
Size:  69.1 KB

    Name:  2.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  48.2 KB

  2. #2
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20,119

    Re: Visual Component Manager

    I never use the old VCM myself.

    The Data View is useful for working with databases and even tabular text files via Jet 4.0 though:

    Name:  sshot3.png
Views: 81
Size:  23.2 KB

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    326

    Re: Visual Component Manager

    Thanks for the reply. I finally gave up and did a re-install of VB6 and the problem went away.

    Edit: Thought I had it fixed with the reinstall. But the problem came back. I unchecked the Visual Component Manager. So far it seems to run. But do I need that?!?! Seems like my problem may run deeper. Thinking something to do with MDAC...
    Last edited by Darkbob; May 17th, 2019 at 08:50 AM.

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20,119

    Re: Visual Component Manager

    MDAC/DAC has been preinstalled and serviced through Windows Update for quite a long time, even on long-dead Windows XP.

    It seems more likely there is something else going on like a GUID conflict. Maybe somebody else has a solution. All I can think of is to dig through the VS/VB 6.0 CDs to search for possible supplementary information.

  5. #5
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20,119

    Re: Visual Component Manager

    This article is no longer online but here is a link to an archived copy:

    https://jeffpar.github.io/kbarchive/kb/191/Q191791/

    You can also search your MSDN CDs for Q191791 there. I don't know if anything there will help with this issue though. VCM was always a little flaky. I haven't installed it in decades.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    326

    Re: Visual Component Manager

    Sounds like something I don't need. It's gone and so are my problem. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    35

    Re: [RESOLVED] Visual Component Manager

    I started getting this error when using VB6 on Windows 10. I'd like a fix if anyone knows one. It runs fine after that message, so its just an annoyance.

    Windows 10 v1809, VB6 SP6, NO MSDN

  8. #8
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    306

    Re: [RESOLVED] Visual Component Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by PsuFan View Post
    I started getting this error when using VB6 on Windows 10. I'd like a fix if anyone knows one. It runs fine after that message, so its just an annoyance.

    Windows 10 v1809, VB6 SP6, NO MSDN
    Here is what I have installed, but on Windows 7. I don't normally have Visual Component Manager Addin loaded, but after testing it, it seems to work fine.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    35

    Re: [RESOLVED] Visual Component Manager

    Must load by default, because I have it loading as well. That and the MouseWheelFix...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width