dcsimg
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] No idea where to go with this

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member habenero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    160

    Resolved [RESOLVED] No idea where to go with this

    I need some schooling on what exactly is a memory leak?

    Here is my sordid story it will glean a few laughs

    I am running Win XP SP3 (there's a laugh)
    My browser is Firefox 52.8.1 (another laugh)

    I'd rather not go to chrome because it is a memory hog

    I use task manager to monitor the behavior of firefox

    it takes a awhile to get set - but I am using a ad-blocker

    But when it is running fine the mem usage in task manager firefox
    is at 240K+

    but then it becomes un responsive and I look at task manager and mem usage is 30 -40k - it had to drop to that for whatever reason

    all I want to know if this is a mem leak or symptom of one

    Thanks

    Jeff

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    33,882

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    No, doesn't sound like it...except for the unresponsive part. A memory leak will generally manifest by a process using up more and more RAM until the system runs out of available memory. This can certainly make things unresponsive, but the memory would go up, not down.

    Now, it could be that something ELSE is leaking memory. What is causing the memory consumption to drop? Perhaps something else is hogging so much memory that the OS is recovering anything it can from other applications.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member habenero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    160

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    The only processes that are running from what I can tell is FF
    System Idle is always running - it usually happens when I 1st
    start the browser. It will increase mem usage to 200-270 K
    and then crash to 30k and then it takes forever for that mem usage to climb

    Thanks for the response - I know I'm driving a Edsel

    Jeff

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    33,882

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    You certainly are. How much RAM do you have on that? Those amounts of RAM are trivial, these days, but XP would run with a whole lot less than modern systems have.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  5. #5
    Frenzied Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    1,378

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    My experience with web browsers is that they ALL leak memory, eventually crashing themselves or Windows. However, the symptoms you describe are not representative of what I have seen with browser memory leaks, so there may be something else going on.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member habenero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    160

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    well is there a file I can look at to see what may be crashing FF?

    It happens everytime upon startup
    Mem usage will climb to +250K
    and then crash to 40k or so

    Thanks for the repiles
    Jeff

  7. #7
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    VB6 dinosaur land
    Posts
    1,132

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    Aside from trying safe mode (both for the OS and browser), perhaps using something like Sysinternal's (now MS) Process Explorer would provide some clues. My guess is you run across a site that has some javascript or whatever on the page that such an old version can't handle cleanly.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member habenero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    160

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    thanks for the info TopShot
    I have had that "unresponsive script" msg come up but not for a long time
    again is there some sort of file inside FF that can show me what starts and maybe
    point me to the problem

    Once FF starts from the crash it usually is stable

    It's almost like there is a hidden anti virus thing running that starts with the initial startup

    Thanks!

    Jeff

  9. #9
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    VB6 dinosaur land
    Posts
    1,132

    Re: No idea where to go with this

    FF should only be opening its own files (databases and such or things in its cache). Process Explorer should show that. Responses from websites, perhaps Wireshark or some other network sniffer would work? Frankly I'm surprised you aren't running into more sites that just plain won't work on the older less secure browsers. I got a PC off Vista for just that reason. XP should not be allowed to be connected to the internet at this point.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width