Thread: [RESOLVED] Change the way the search works

Resolved [RESOLVED] Change the way the search works

Hello

Before I ask my question, I am not a programmer but understand little things to make my work easier, please be patient.

1) The input data is arranged in columns, and the total rows can vary.

At the moment the program starts at the first row and looks for a match from row 2 on wards for each item in row1 . It looks at each column on each row until it finds a match. Its will loop through until EOF. if no match then it returns a 0

input could look like this data:

Code:
    row1  200 390 400 387 186
    row2  175 643 200 111 213 
    row3  186 643 390 206 400

the output file looks like this:

Code:
    row1  200 390 400 387 186 1 2 2 1 2
    row2  387 643 200 111 213 0 1 0 0 0
    row3  186 643 390 206 400 0 0 0 0 0

I want to change that the search for row1 starts in column 1 row2, then if it can not find it must go to column 1 row3, column 1 row4 until all the items are found,
    then it must look for the items of row1 in column 2 row2 then if it can not find it must go to column 2 row3 until all the items are found.

the output file should look like this then

Code:
    row1  200 390 400 387 186 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    row2  387 643 200 111 213 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    row3  186 643 390 206 400 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Thanks for your help in advance
    Johan

the current code

Code:
    Private Sub AddAgeLocations(sourceFile As String, destinationFile As String)
            Dim records As New List(Of List(Of String))
            Dim offsets As New List(Of String)

'fetch all the lines from the file, split each line into a list of ages (strings) and sort the list
            'store each list as an element of another list
            For Each line As String In IO.File.ReadAllLines(sourceFile)
                records.Add(line.Split(CChar(vbTab)).ToList)