dcsimg
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member jazFunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    397

    Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    All of a sudden we keep getting this 'inconsistent state' error when opening our database. Access does it's thing, makes a backup, and repairs the database.

    So far, it always seems to repair itself. However, it's happening more and more often.

    It first began last Friday. I fixed it, all good.

    Then it happened this morning. I fixed it.

    Then it happened again a couple of hours later. I fixed it.

    I did my due diligence and Googled it. Found several links, this one seemed pertinent. I would like to get an experts take on this suggested remedy, or maybe offer a better one. Or maybe tell me that I'm just screwed because it's not split and running multiple users over a network, even via RDP.

    https://support.office.com/en-us/art...6-d3a7c422dc1d
    Things I've found useful:
    DateTime.ToString() Patterns | Retrieving and Saving Data in Databases | ADO.NET Data Containers: An Explanation

    Quote of the day from jmcilhinney:
    'Talking about Option Strict and Option Explicit in the same sentence is pointless unless it is to say that they should both be On.'

  2. #2

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member jazFunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    397

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    I'll make this easier and post the part I'm concerned with:

    STATUS: WORKAROUND

    The engineering team is aware of and working to fix this issue. In the meantime, disable the leasing on the file server where the database is stored and the client machine where Microsoft Access is running as a workaround. To do this:

    Click Windows Start Press the Windows key and then type Command. Right-click on Command Prompt and choose Run as administrator.

    Copy and paste the following commands into the command prompt window:

    REG ADD HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\lanmanserver\parameters /v DisableLeasing /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

    NET STOP SERVER

    NET START SERVER

    Close the command prompt window.
    Things I've found useful:
    DateTime.ToString() Patterns | Retrieving and Saving Data in Databases | ADO.NET Data Containers: An Explanation

    Quote of the day from jmcilhinney:
    'Talking about Option Strict and Option Explicit in the same sentence is pointless unless it is to say that they should both be On.'

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member jazFunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    397

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    Posted twice, not sure how.
    Last edited by jazFunk; Sep 12th, 2018 at 02:28 PM. Reason: Duplicate Post
    Things I've found useful:
    DateTime.ToString() Patterns | Retrieving and Saving Data in Databases | ADO.NET Data Containers: An Explanation

    Quote of the day from jmcilhinney:
    'Talking about Option Strict and Option Explicit in the same sentence is pointless unless it is to say that they should both be On.'

  4. #4
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,071

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    running multiple users over a network, even via RDP
    am i interpreting that correct ?
    there is 1 computer with msaccess installed, that 1 computer also holds the database
    multiple users start that copy of msaccess via RDP, to access the database
    so, if there are 5 users, are there then 5 instances of access running on that 1 computer ?
    do not put off till tomorrow what you can put off forever

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member jazFunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    397

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    Quote Originally Posted by IkkeEnGij View Post
    am i interpreting that correct ?
    there is 1 computer with msaccess installed, that 1 computer also holds the database
    multiple users start that copy of msaccess via RDP, to access the database
    so, if there are 5 users, are there then 5 instances of access running on that 1 computer ?
    No, sir. The database resides on the server. Each user has Access installed on their computer and opens the same database from the same network location. RDP users, who also have Access installed, open the same database from the same location.
    Things I've found useful:
    DateTime.ToString() Patterns | Retrieving and Saving Data in Databases | ADO.NET Data Containers: An Explanation

    Quote of the day from jmcilhinney:
    'Talking about Option Strict and Option Explicit in the same sentence is pointless unless it is to say that they should both be On.'

  6. #6
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,071

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    The database resides on the server. Each user has Access installed on their computer and opens the same database from the same network location.
    i see

    RDP users, who also have Access installed, open the same database from the same location.
    i see,but confused, what has Remode Desktop Protocol to do with this ?
    do not put off till tomorrow what you can put off forever

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member jazFunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    397

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    Quote Originally Posted by IkkeEnGij View Post
    i see


    i see,but confused, what has Remode Desktop Protocol to do with this ?
    Just informing anyone who is attempting to help that we have users who are accessing the database via that method, as well.

    So far, I think I've learned that I'm going to need to split my database.
    Things I've found useful:
    DateTime.ToString() Patterns | Retrieving and Saving Data in Databases | ADO.NET Data Containers: An Explanation

    Quote of the day from jmcilhinney:
    'Talking about Option Strict and Option Explicit in the same sentence is pointless unless it is to say that they should both be On.'

  8. #8
    Super Moderator FunkyDexter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    An obscure body in the SK system. The inhabitants call it Earth
    Posts
    6,996

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    How many concurrent users do you have? Access isn't really designed to cope with multiple users. It'll handle a few but at some point it tends to start having issues. Have you considered moving to a "proper" server based database like SQL Server or MySQL?
    You can depend upon the Americans to do the right thing. But only after they have exhausted every other possibility - Winston Churchill

    Hadoop actually sounds more like the way they greet each other in Yorkshire - Inferrd

  9. #9
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,071

    Re: Access reports that databases are in an 'inconsistent state'

    RDP users, who also have Access installed, open the same database from the same location.
    please explain step by step how these RDP users, who also have Access installed, open the same database from the same location.
    such as:
    1)user starts computer
    2)user starts RDP
    3)
    4)
    5)
    6)
    etc...
    do not put off till tomorrow what you can put off forever

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width