Thread: [RESOLVED] Publishing w/ COM objects

Resolved [RESOLVED] Publishing w/ COM objects

I'm new to visual basic and have written a small program with a 3rd party reference (ChemDraw) which I have v16 installed on my computer. Everything works great. When I published my program and installed it on a different computer with ChemDraw v17, one form would not load due to unregistered libraries.

How can I package up my dll's when I publish my program? What I am I doing wrong?

Thanks for any ideas!

Re: Publishing w/ COM objects

The Interop assembly generated when you build is presumably specific to version 16. You may need to install the trial of version 17 and build against that to get an appropriate Interop assembly. I'm no Interop expert but until recently, even Microsoft office required you to build against the specific version you intended to target. It took some work from Microsoft to allow multiple versions to be targeted without using late-binding and I doubt that the publishers of your software have done that work.

gibra

You actually use EARLY binding to a specific version, while should use LATE binding that will done using CreateObject() API function.

I have written an article about this, that solve many problems.
    You can find the link for VB.NET (Excel, Word) and VB6.0

EARLY binding and LATE binding: using together!-VBForums
    http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.p...=1#post4176842

In essence, the project demonstrates how EARLY binding can be used in development, while once the program is distributed, it will use LATE binding, thus solving the problem of the different versions of the library that is being used.
    The 'canonical' examples are those for Excel and Word which are usually the most used programs for this kind of work.