Thread: GOSUB - Is It Realy That Bad?

Hyperactive Member

GOSUB - Is It Realy That Bad?

I posted this earlier today in the VB6 section but for those of you who don't read those threads I htought I would repeat it here...

I like GOSUB. I started programming in Assembly and Turbo Pascal back when PC's first came out in the early ‘80s so I have been doing this for a long time.

There are two main advantages of using GOSUB: 1) no variables to push/pop from the stack and 2) any local variables don't need to initialized and destroyed on each call.

The supposed disadvantages of using GOSUB are: 1) it just isn't modern coding practice, 2) it leads to spaghetti code that is very hard to use and maintain, 3) it is only like a Sub and it can’t return a value like a Function and 4) because of (1) and (2) most younger programmers don’t even know when/how to use it and most “modern” programming languages don’t even include it.

Processors use gosub internally. They also use a lot of what is the equivalent of the GOTO command in VB/VBA but that is a discussion for another day.

I also find that GOSUB doesn’t make me write spaghetti code (at least any more than I do without using it). I can find a line label in my current procedure as fast as I can find a standalone routine and with proper commenting I dno’t hae any additional code maintenance issues.

I keep reading statements by other programmers about their disdain for GOSUB but their arguments are weak to non-existent for why we shouldn’t use it and why it made sense for Microsoft to remove it from VB.NET. I think that’s crazy so I decided I would test my assumptions regarding speed.

I worked up something approximating a real-world scenario and I wrote a simple program that call the repeating code via a Function and I wrote another routine that called the repeating code via a GOSUB command.

I got some very surprising results. Below are the time in milliseconds to execute the code 10,000 times.

Using Function Using GOSUB