Thread: VB 2017 - Retrieving image path into picture box on form from database

VB 2017 - Retrieving image path into picture box on form from database

Hi everyone. I'm new to the forums. I am a programming/computer tech major at a technical college.

Anyways, is there a possible way I can:
    - retrieve a photo from an Access database field as "Long Text" using an image file path so that it displays the designated image onto a picture box AS the form loads and I navigate each record? I am not using any OleDBAdapter codes in my program (but have Option Infer Off/Strict On/Explicit On and System.IO); I'm simply using a TableAdapter by connecting my program to the database.

Any help's greatly appreciated.
    - CV

Re: VB 2017 - Retrieving image path into picture box on form from database

You may well be unaware but a table adapter is actually a wrapper for a data adapter so you really are using an OleDbDataAdapter. The table adapter has Fill and Update methods to retrieve and save data and these are mapped onto the Fill and Update methods of that internal data adapter.

Your table adapter is used to populate a DataTable inside a DataSet via its Fill method. As you have an image file path stored in the database, you can populate a PictureBox via its ImageLocation property in exactly the same way as you would populate a TextBox via its Text property. That can be done directly, by setting the property in code, or via data-binding, which can be set up in the designer or in code.