.ShowOpen
    Text1.Text = .FileName
    End With

It shows the file path and extention.

Bud how can i get the only file name without the path and extention
    Example
    c:\test\visual Basic.exe

And in Text2.Text i want Visual basic

Re: Filename without path and extention.

I don't use the CommonDialog control (using API calls instead), but I often find myself in the situation of wanting to get a file's name and extension from the complete specification (including path). I typically use InstrRev to do it, searching for "\" and take what's to the right using Mid$.

Take Care,
    Elroy
    Any software I post in these forums written by me is provided “AS IS” without warranty of any kind, expressed or implied, and permission is hereby granted, free of charge and without restriction, to any person obtaining a copy. Please understand that I’ve been programming since the mid-1970s and still have some of that code. My contemporary VB6 project is approaching 1,000 modules. In addition, I have a “VB6 random code folder” that is overflowing. I’ve been at this long enough to truly not know with absolute certainty from whence every single line of my code has come, with much of it coming from programmers under my employ who signed intellectual property transfers. I have not deliberately attempted to remove any licenses and/or attributions from any software. If someone finds that I have inadvertently done so, I sincerely apologize, and, upon notice and reasonable proof, will re-attach those licenses and/or attributions. To all, peace and happiness.

I don't know how to do that.

I'll try to learn and understand it.
    And ask al lot of questions after i have search on the internet without finding it.

Bud the part i have i like..
    It workt fine for me.
    And i undertsand it

Bun not how to get only the file name?

Code:

sFileSpec = "C:\Users\Elroy\Desktop\temp.docx"
        sFileName = Mid$(sFileSpec, InStrRev(sFileSpec, "\") + 1)
        MsgBox sFileName

Enjoy,