Thread: Tab char and menuitem

Tab char and menuitem

Hi,

Does anyone know about a "hack" to get the Tab char working in a ToolstripMenuItem/Label? I have tried Convert.ToChar(Keys.Tab), ControlChars.Tab... Even in C# using the "\t" character, the tab thing won't work. Instead of a "tab function", I only get 1 extra space in my text. If I put two tabs in the string, I get 2 extra spaces etc...

It seem like the same thing applies to a Forms .Text property as well.

I have tried building my string with all three (??) methods; String.Format, Interpolated strings and with the concatenation operator...
    Last edited by Arve K.; Feb 12th, 2018 at 07:22 AM.
    Arve K.

Please mark your thread as resolved and add reputation to those who helped you solve your problem
    Disclaimer: I am not a professional programmer

You don't want to know.

Re: Tab char and menuitem

I don't think so, short of custom rendering it yourself.

Ask yourself this: "Have I ever purchased software that put a tab in this menu?" I don't think it's a good idea.
    This answer is wrong. You should be using TableAdapter and Dictionaries instead.

How about this... instead of explaining HOW you're trying to accomplish something... try explaining WHAT you're trying to do... what's the end goal here?

-tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

Hi,