VS 2010 [RESOLVED] It works on the HP, why not the Dell?-VBForums
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] It works on the HP, why not the Dell?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    South Charleston, WV, USA
    Posts
    607

    Resolved [RESOLVED] It works on the HP, why not the Dell?

    Is there anything about a Dell laptop computer that would cause certain controls on a panel not to appear? My VB.Net 2010 program lists data with some navigation buttons at the bottom instaniated in code on a panel just fine on my HP laptop. But the navigaton buttons and the left-right scroll don't show on the Dell. Has anybody run into this? As I mentioned, the code is working fine on my HP laptop so the code does not need to be debugged. It's something in the translation. I've also tried all screen resolutions on the Dell. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    97,712

    Re: It works on the HP, why not the Dell?

    Is the DPI different between the two? If you make the form really big so those controls are nowhere the bottom, are the controls visible, i.e. is it really that the controls aren't there or are they just not within the visible bounds of the form? You might even add some code to display the relevant properties, e.g. Visible, Bounds, etc, when the form is displayed.
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  3. #3
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    543

    Re: It works on the HP, why not the Dell?

    There have been a few threads recently where problems similar to your's were caused by scaling the Windows display. If you have a high resolution (full HD or even higher) but physically small screen, a lot of users will set the scaling to 125% or 150%. This can have an effect on a Windows Forms application.

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    South Charleston, WV, USA
    Posts
    607

    Re: It works on the HP, why not the Dell?

    Thank you jmcilhinney and paulg for responding. I'm still working on this. Jmcilhinney, is the DPI you're referring to set by the resolution? I've tried all the resolutions. I've also tried 100%, 125%, and 150% scale. No joy. Both of these computers are laptops and the problem appears/doesn't appear on the respective laptop screens, although I usually connect my laptop to a monitor. I've played around with it some and those buttons just won't appear on the Dell. I'm going to have play around with it some more to see what's going on.

  5. #5
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    3,526

    Re: It works on the HP, why not the Dell?

    The controls location may or may not be a factor. Have you tried moving one of these problem controls to the middle of the panel and see if it appears? That should answer if its a DPI, Resolution, Scaling problem.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    South Charleston, WV, USA
    Posts
    607

    Re: It works on the HP, why not the Dell?

    After playing around with heights of the panels I was able to get it to work. Thanks for looking.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width