Thread: Textfile projects

Textfile projects

Hi !

I am very new to programming I am from the US. For my assignment I need to create a text file system that will book users to certain golf ranges. I have looked over the internet for back end text files and i cant find any. Anyone know where I can find examples ?

Re: Textfile projects

Text files are easy to read and write. Show us your program/code and we'll tell you how to utilise text files in your scenario...

I think that you're looking for some magic that doesn't exist. A text file is just a simple text file, like you read and write using Notepad. In general, you read and write text files in VB.NET using a StreamReader and a StreamWriter respectively (although there are variations), which you would find if you searched the web for "vb.net read text file" or the like. Don't necessarily expect that someone will have written a tutorial on how to use text files as a backend for a VB.NET application. Software development is not about copying and pasting turnkey solutions. It's about taking bits of knowledge and combining them in ways that suit your overall problem. Reading and writing text files is basically the same regardless of where the data is going to or coming from. Displaying data is basically the same regardless of where the data is coming from. You don't need to learn how to read and write data and how to display it as a single unit. You can learn them completely independently and then combine them yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by itsmethecoder101 View Post
    Hi !

I am very new to programming I am from the US. For my assignment I need to create a text file system that will book users to certain golf ranges. I have looked over the internet for back end text files and i cant find any. Anyone know where I can find examples ?
    Hi,

you got more than on answer(s) in this Thread you started a while back
    http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.p...iles-in-vb-net