Thread: [RESOLVED] Keyascii equivalent in VB.Net? Act on characters as they are entered

Hybrid View

[RESOLVED] Keyascii equivalent in VB.Net? Act on characters as they are entered

I'm not a daily programmer so please be gentle with your beatdown

I have to recreate some very old VB6 code in VB.Net I had code that reads the keypress of a text box. When the input stream sees a "," it clears the textbox as that indicates a new barcode is about to be entered. Then when a "carriage return" ascii char(13) is read in the text box input stream (marking the end), it calls another sub. FYI the text box is filled via a usb barcode scanner programmed to append a CR at the end of the scan. How can I do the code below in VB.Net?

Code:
    Private Sub igu_txt_KeyPress(KeyAscii As Integer) 'reset igu_txt.text and currentigu if you see a ","
            Dim Numbers As Integer
            Numbers = KeyAscii
            If (Numbers = 44) Then
                igu_txt.Text = ""
                LastIGU = CurrentIGU
                CurrentIGU = ""
                KeyAscii = 0
            End If
            If (Numbers = 13) Then
                Call PrintLabel
            End If
        End Sub
    Thanks for the help!
    Dave
    Last edited by Dnoob; Jan 10th, 2018 at 04:47 PM.

PowerPoster

Re: Keyascii equivalent in VB.Net? Act on characters as they are entered - VB.Net

Code:
      Private Sub TextBox1_KeyPress(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyPressEventArgs) _
        Handles TextBox1.KeyPress

If e.KeyChar = "," Then
          ' Add code to handle a comma pressed
          e.Handled = True  ' This is the rough equivalent of KeyAscii = 0 above.
        ElseIf e.KeyChar = ControlChars.Cr Then
          ' Add code to handle Enter being pressed
          e.Handled = True  ' This is the rough equivalent of KeyAscii = 0 above.
        End If

End Sub

Re: Keyascii equivalent in VB.Net? Act on characters as they are entered - VB.Net

Thank you so much!