Thread: Sams 'Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6'

Sams 'Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6'

I have been using VB6 for more than 8 years, but have only recently joined the forum. At the beginning, I bought the Howard Sams book 'Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6' but never spent much time with it. To fill in some missing technique, I now am browsing the book.
    Unfortunately, the included CD of VB projects is missing.
    Searching this forum, I found that other correspondents also
    had the problem. Since I had purchased VB6, I would not
    buy yet another copy of the book, only for the CD.
    So, would some kind soul extract the VB projects/directories and attach by email? Thanks in advance.

PowerPoster

Re: Sams 'Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6'

Who is the author and what is the ISBN number? I found a couple different "Teach Yourself VB 6" books published by Sams.

For used programming books I've bought that didn't include the original media, I've had about a 75% success rate tracking down the original files via the Wayback machine at archive.org. For this book you'd probably want to try archived content for www.samspublishing.com or www.informit.com from around the year that the book was first published.

PowerPoster

Generally all of the code for those projects is also printed out in the books.

Quote Originally Posted by DataMiser View Post
    Generally all of the code for those projects is also printed out in the books.
    So was the code when I first started to learn Basic using my Tandy TRS-80. I subscribed to a 'magazine' which included project code. After a while, tho, it got real tedious typing the same old routines time after time, so I subscribed to the 'tape' version, which I could use to display the code on that small black and green display.