Thread: Where to go now?

Where to go now?

Hi Guys

I have never had any formal programming training. My interest is in using technology for educational purposes. I am self-taught in VB6 and have reached a level of competence where I can develop educational programs that are appreciated by other teachers. I am now looking for a new challenge and in particular something that will allow me to produce programs beyond the Windows platform, e.g. Android or web-based software. Can you suggest a direction I might take that would follow on from what I have learned in VB?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

Re: Where to go now?

One option is to look at moving to .NET. You could start with VB.NET and let your VB6 knowledge help you get comfortable and then learn C# syntax. I suggest this because .NET is getting genuinely cross-platform these days, so you can build apps for Windows, iOS, Android and others from within Visual Studio. Some of the cross-platform tools and functionality is still a bit clunky but it is getting better all the time.

I mention C# because some of those tools do not support VB at this time. There's suggestions that they will but VB doesn't have as broad appeal as C# so there's no guarantee that it will happen. Some VB developers feel slighted at that but, while there is demand there, it's not the same degree as in C# and, to be honest, if you are comfortable with VB.NET then learning C# is not much of a stretch. That said, some who really enjoy the VB syntax don't like C#'s C-based syntax, with lots of braces and semicolons.

Note that Microsoft offer a Community Edition of VS that is free for most people and supports most of the power of VS Pro. I'm not sure whether Xamarin, which is one of the cross-platform tools, is support but, since it was acquired by Microsoft, I would expect that it is or will be.