How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?-VBForums
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Given:
    I have vb6 sp5 on XP Pro 32 bit sp2.
    I do not want to use IE's webbrowser or its derived variations (MozillaControlxxx.exe). This IS a given.
    I can see lots of tools in Firefox which seem to indicate that there is usually an html DOM available.

    Potential:
    If there is an html DOM available in Firefox, then I should be able to access it from VB6.

    Question:
    How do I access an html DOM in Firefox so that I can fill in a form in Firefox?

    Another Given:
    Impossible is not a valid answer.

  2. #2
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    3,147

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Browser-Components will run in your own Process (hence you can influence the DOM per Inprocess-calls to these Componets/Libraries).
    But you ruled them out.

    Seems what you want, is to interact with the DOM in a *foreign* Process (Firefox.exe) -
    and the only way to do that (without true hacking) is, to "get your own component into the Firefox-Process".

    And yes, there is an official way to do that, you know...
    https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2014...fox-extension/

    Olaf

  3. #3
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    17,731

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Of course there is a DOM, there has to be or JavaScript has no API to leverage.

    But it can be made up of foreign technology in a foreign browser, and Firefox is about as foreign as software comes. It ignores most of the power of Windows in exchange for portability to minority OSs.

    Maybe see Embedding Mozilla. Good luck with that. It may be completely obsolete now.

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    22,968

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    have you looked at using selenium in your vb6?
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Quote Originally Posted by Schmidt View Post
    Browser-Components will run in your own Process (hence you can influence the DOM per Inprocess-calls to these Componets/Libraries).
    But you ruled them out.

    Seems what you want, is to interact with the DOM in a *foreign* Process (Firefox.exe) -
    and the only way to do that (without true hacking) is, to "get your own component into the Firefox-Process".

    And yes, there is an official way to do that, you know...
    https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2014...fox-extension/

    Olaf
    Not sufficient to help. I do not feel like I can handle this process.
    Last edited by Lab Copy; Nov 15th, 2017 at 03:25 AM. Reason: not sufficient logic from me.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Quote Originally Posted by dilettante View Post
    Of course there is a DOM, there has to be or JavaScript has no API to leverage.

    But it can be made up of foreign technology in a foreign browser, and Firefox is about as foreign as software comes. It ignores most of the power of Windows in exchange for portability to minority OSs.

    Maybe see Embedding Mozilla. Good luck with that. It may be completely obsolete now.
    Maybe. Looks tempting. I will look into this. Not a sufficient answer for resolution at this time.

    "Of course there is a DOM" is not an acceptable response.

    I asked for: "How do I access an html DOM in Firefox so that I can fill in a form in Firefox?"

    Maybe I need to say it more simply: "How do I fill in a form in Firefox?" I already specified using vb6 sp5 on XP Pro 32 bit sp2.

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Quote Originally Posted by Schmidt View Post
    Browser-Components will run in your own Process (hence you can influence the DOM per Inprocess-calls to these Componets/Libraries).
    But you ruled them out.

    Seems what you want, is to interact with the DOM in a *foreign* Process (Firefox.exe) -
    and the only way to do that (without true hacking) is, to "get your own component into the Firefox-Process".

    And yes, there is an official way to do that, you know...
    https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2014...fox-extension/

    Olaf
    Maybe "true hacking" might be an option. I would consider this if I had help with it.

    This seems to be a promising potential.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Quote Originally Posted by westconn1 View Post
    have you looked at using selenium in your vb6?
    Selenium. Maybe. I looked at this different times before, but I do not know how to use it and I am pushed for time. So far I have found that VB6 is extraordinarily powerful without 3rd party add-ons. I am going with VB6 if I can.

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    Quote Originally Posted by Schmidt View Post
    Browser-Components will run in your own Process (hence you can influence the DOM per Inprocess-calls to these Componets/Libraries).
    But you ruled them out.

    Seems what you want, is to interact with the DOM in a *foreign* Process (Firefox.exe) -
    and the only way to do that (without true hacking) is, to "get your own component into the Firefox-Process".

    And yes, there is an official way to do that, you know...
    https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2014...fox-extension/

    Olaf
    I did not rule out all browser components, just any that have been derived from IE's "webbrowser" component.

    If you know of others, I am at this time, interested.

    Thanks.

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    There were some nice ideas given, but since I do not know how to do some things, they were to vague for me to use at this time.

    I have been considering opening a page with some JavaScript or else in extension to the URL.
    I have checked the following and I would like to help understanding the results.
    Please.


    This works

    https://www.google.com/?q=hello
    https://www.google.com/search?q=hello

    http://www.metacrawler.com/?q=hello
    http://www.metacrawler.com/search?q=hello

    http://www.bing.com/?q=hello
    http://www.bing.com/search?q=hello

    ---

    This does not work

    https://www.hotbot.com/?q=hello
    https://www.hotbot.com/search?q=hello

    ---

    This works (same site, with search)
    https://www.ask.com/search?q=hello

    This does not work (same site, without search)
    https://www.ask.com/?q=hello

    ---

    This does not work
    http://www.globalspec.com/?query=hello

    Some work and some do not. I need some help with this.

    Thanks for all the responses so far.

  11. #11

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Earth / Born October 32, 2955
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I access an html DOM in Firefox without using Mozilla's IE Control?

    None of the detailed answers, herein, worked for me.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.