Thread: Is there a way to connect or link a vbscript to an excel file?

Is there a way to connect or link a vbscript to an excel file?

Hello Everyone,

 let me explain what I'm trying to get done, about once every 2 weeks I need to go into the warehouse write down every product's serial number we have and its location from there I must go into our system's inventory and manually enter the serial number and then change its location (our system is old by the way). My idea was to create vbscript that auto types and navigates through my system which I was able to do and save me some time but I still have to edit the script with the updated locations and it takes a while to edit that huge pile of text... (I'm still new to vbscripting) so I was wondering is there a way to link my vbscript to an excel file. for example, have it nice and organized like:

Item Number   Description           Location    update

FP38466     DB1D Gloss Black        BW111    yes or true

then have the vbscript check to see if a certain item needs to be updated and if it does it will update it and if not, it will just skip that item. Here is how my script mostly looks like:

WshShell.SendKeys "FP38466{ENTER}"
    WScript.Sleep 200
    WshShell.SendKeys "{ENTER}"
    WScript.Sleep 300
    WshShell.SendKeys "e"               (This is to go to the edit screen)
    WScript.Sleep 200
    WshShell.SendKeys "{ENTER}{ENTER}{ENTER}{ENTER} " (This is so I can get to the location)
    WScript.Sleep 200
    WshShell.SendKeys "BW111{ENTER}"
    WScript.Sleep 300
    WshShell.SendKeys "s"               (This is to save my changes)
    WScript.Sleep 300