Proper VB.NET version [help]-VBForums
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Proper VB.NET version [help]

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member ahmedcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    62

    Proper VB.NET version [help]

    Hello everyone, I'm learning VB6 but I want to take a look in VB.NET, my computer abilities are DELL optiplex 760, Pentium(R) Dual-core CPU E5300 @2.60GHz 2.59 GHz, memory 1.00 GB, so what's the proper version for my PC, I've windows 7, my PC accept windows 64bit, what I need with VB.NET ? something like framework ?!

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    31,014

    Re: Proper VB.NET version [help]

    That's a very minimal amount of RAM for pretty nearly anything, these days.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Member ahmedcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    62

    Re: Proper VB.NET version [help]

    Is there any problem if I tried to get Visual Studio 2010 ? Do programs programmed by VB of VS 2010 work well on Windows 10 ?

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Member ahmedcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    62

    Re: Proper VB.NET version [help]

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaggy Hiker View Post
    That's a very minimal amount of RAM for pretty nearly anything, these days.
    I'll try to increase it, but for now I seek VS version that can work fine with this processor and RAM.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    31,014

    Re: Proper VB.NET version [help]

    I use 2010 for lots of things. I still feel it's the best looking version of VS that was created, and it targets FW 4.0, which includes most of the newer things. There are limitations, though, since you can't do Xamarin or Cordova things with 2010, but for VB.NET it is generally still quite good. I have used it on a variety of systems, too, but thinking back on it, I believe I always had at least 2GB of RAM on any of those systems. That may not be quite true, though, as I was using it fine on a pretty old dual-core Pentium system which may have had only 1 GB. I know I had it on a couple boxes that were even older, but they may have still had more memory.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.