Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Printer error!!

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Resolved Printer Error resolved

    i have an app that has been deployed for about 6 years, it has just started generating a error 482, printer error

    i have error handled this now and the program can complete without printing, but it is supposed to print

    the app just prints to the default printer, no setting of printer object or anything
    some setting of printer properties first, then all printing is done with printer.print, then printer.enddoc

    the workstation seems to print alright from other apps, i tried changing the default printer, same error, during the time the app has been in use they have had several different printers, with no problem, the current printer hs been there for about 12 months, it is a network (ethernet) printer, it currently has a warning status, but other programs can print without problem or warning, also i changed the default printer to test
    i am unable create the same error here to test no matter what i try, turning printer off or disconnecting cable etc

    anyone got any suggestions, or come across this sort of problem before?
    i can post code, but it doesn't seem to be a code problem
    Last edited by westconn1; Aug 11th, 2020 at 06:48 AM.
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  2. #2
    Ex-Super Mod RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,710

    Re: Printer error!!

    If you look up the printer warning error code what does it state?
    The VB error for 482 is "Printer error (version 97)" but I'm sure you looked that up.

    Has the driver for the printer been recently upgraded? Any other software installed or windows updates?
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Re: Printer error!!

    thanks for the quick reply rob,
    nothing that i know of has been changed since it was last working, and i do all their support

    i searched the printer error, but only found that it was a printer error, so far i haven't isolated exactly which line it errors on, as i figure i would have to log each line that prints to a file, but i wouldn't be suprised if it is every line that prints

    i should be able to test it more, if i take my laptop in and join it to their domain, which seems like the next best option, but not a good choice commercially, not everyone is just round the corner.
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  4. #4
    Ex-Super Mod RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,710

    Re: Printer error!!

    Yes, I know what you mean. What about having them print to file and let them handle the printing after that? Write it tot a rtf file or such and then shell it to WordPad and thy can select the printer and other options.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Re: Printer error!!

    i already create a bunch of rtf files that are then printed to the fax driver using wordpad, but this is just a summary report, that should spit out on the printer for filing, it's a worry when an error like that can crop up after so long a period, i need to resolve the cause of the error sometime soon as i really don't think it is im my programming

    i just found this, but i don't know why it should have been working up to now if this is the case
    Reason - This has been traced to the fact that does not handle space characters within the path name for a printer, for example:

    * '\\Server\Printer' is OK, will print to this network printer
    * '\\Server\HP Printer' is not OK, will give a printer error (482)
    * '\\Print Server\Printer' is not OK, will give a printer error (482)
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  6. #6
    PowerPoster jcis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    4,430

    Re: Printer error!!

    Microsoft says..

    Error 482
    There is some problem that prevents printing. Some possible causes are:

    1. You don't have a printer selected from the Windows Control Panel.
    2. Your printer is not online.
    3. Your printer is jammed or out of paper.
    4. You tried to print a form to a printer than can accept only text.

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Re: Printer error!!

    thanks,
    but the last report printed was still on the printer, so it was working OK to then, and was still able to print from other programs
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    40

    Re: Printer error!!

    Did you ever get this resolved? I have exactly the same problem. None of my apps are printing (in development mode or exe) though they work OK from my laptop and another PC.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width