Running VB6 on Windows 10-VBForums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 60

Thread: Running VB6 on Windows 10

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Newbie here, although I did spend a few minutes searching
    prior posts on this matter.

    I will shortly be moving a VB6 SP5 app from an ancient XP OS
    computer to a new 64-bit Windows 10 computer.

    I eventually hope to rewrite it in VB.Net, but for the time being
    I just want to get it off the old computer. The app has 3 forms
    and 9 modules. And I would like to run it in "edit mode" (ie,
    not compiled).

    Do I need to move any other "driver" files to be able to
    run it in "edit mode", or do I simply just need to copy the .frm
    .bas .vbp .vbw .log and .frx files?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    11,632

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    You don't need any log files

    You do need all of the bas, frm, frx, vbp, vbw, vbg and ctl files if present as well as any res or data files you may be using
    Of course you will need VB6 SP5 or SP6 installed on the new machine and any other ocx or dlls you may be using

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    DataMiser

    Thanks for that.

    Regarding the VB6 SP5 issue, I'm a little at a loss how to proceed.

    On the C: drive of the old box, I have the following

    + Program Files
    .. + Microsoft Visual Studio .. 156 objects
    ..... + COMMON
    .......... + Graphics
    .......... + IDE
    .......... + MSDev98
    .......... + Tools
    .......... + Wizards98
    ..... + MSDN98
    ..... + VB98
    .......... + Setup
    .......... + Templates
    .......... + Wizards

    This is a broad outline of the folders and subfolders. For simplicity,
    I did not list all additional sub-sub folders and objects.

    On the new box, do I need to manually create all of the folders and
    subfolders, or can I just create ..

    + Program Files
    .. + Microsoft Visual Studio

    and then highlight the 3 subfolders and 156 objects and expect the
    other subfolders and objects to be created?

  4. #4
    Hyperactive Member PlausiblyDamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Newport, UK
    Posts
    300

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Just copying the files will not be enough, you will need to install VB6 on the new PC.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    PlausiblyDamp

    I'm rather daft regarding this matter.

    Install ..
    .. using the old disks (if I can find them) or
    .. download from Microsoft, or
    .. something else?

  6. #6
    Hyperactive Member PlausiblyDamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Newport, UK
    Posts
    300

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    If you have the disks then that would work, otherwise I think you can download VB6 from the MSDN Subscriber downloads - that is assuming you have an MSDN subscription though.

  7. #7
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    11,632

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    You have to install from the install disks. Then download and install the service pack.
    There are also some tricks to installing under Windows 10 so you should do a search for the proper methods.

    And Yes you can download it from MS if you are a MSDN subscriber. I think the only version they have for download is the Enterprise version and that is only to paid subscribers of the service.

  8. #8
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5,789

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    And Yes you can download it from MS if you are a MSDN subscriber. I think the only version they have for download is the Enterprise version and that is only to paid subscribers of the service.
    Which, of course, is greed. With the 'anciency' (meaning, VB6 is 'old'), you would think that MS would allow us 'old timers' to get free copies of the application...after all, they provide several free copies of their newer .Net versions.

    That is why I made (several) copies of my original VB6 CD's (and glad I did because one of my original ones became horribly scratched in a faulty drive years ago). If I hadn't, I'd have to spend a princely sum to get an MSDN subscription just to get a replacement application.

    SO, OP---IF you don't have your original CDs (and don't want to spend a lot of money to get an MSDN subscription), then you are out of luck...you MUST install VB6 properly.

    If you start looking for 'deal's on the internet, be warned, some are pirated, illegal or may not have the necessary unlocking codes.

    Anyway, good luck...I hope your have your original disks.

  9. #9
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5,789

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Oh, and Welcome to the Forum!

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by SamOscarBrown View Post

    That is why I made (several) copies of my original VB6 CD's (and glad I did because one of my original ones became horribly scratched in a faulty drive years ago). If I hadn't, I'd have to spend a princely sum to get an MSDN subscription just to get a replacement application.
    Ow, ow, ow!!
    Having looked twice in one place, with no luck, I stumbled
    upon a second location, and found the following:

    MS VisualBasic 6.0 Professional Edition (single disk)
    MSDN Library Visual Studio 6.0 (2 disks)
    .. disk 1 .. Setup
    .. disk 2

    With the former (VB 6.0) I see that I made the following
    note:

    "Reinstalled" 1/22/01
    .. and 2 18-digit numbers (the last 5 being different)
    as I was using 2 computers at the time.

    So, do those 18-digit numbers constitute "re-registering"?
    And if so, how might I proceed?

    Spoo

  11. #11

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    PS

    The VB 6.0 disk container has a CD KEY number on the back

  12. #12
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    11,632

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    You will need to enter the cd key during install

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Datamiser

    10-4 on that.
    Will give it a go and post an update

    Spoo

  14. #14
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    880

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    If you have everything needed, then a fresh install is the way to go.
    Don't forget that at the end of the VB6 Install, you use the MSDN CDs (or DVD if you begged MS at the time- Oct 2000 was a good year) to install the integrated Help file (the only way to live)

    For those facing a similar dilemma, you could try this (which is free for transferring two applications) -
    http://www.easeus.com/free-pc-transfer-software/

    If it were I, using PCTrans, I would take the following precautions -
    - Have external 3.5" drives (get Seagate or WD), for creating images of your whole C drive (I use the free Seagate DiscWizard. WD also has one)
    http://www.seagate.com/au/en/support...ds/discwizard/
    - Create an image of your W10
    (while you are at it create an image of your XP. Everyone should be creating images, and Verifying them)
    - Install PCTrans in both PCs
    - Have a go at transferring VB6

    If it makes a mess, then Restore your image,
    Rob

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    44

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by SamOscarBrown View Post
    <snip>
    That is why I made (several) copies of my original VB6 CD's (and glad I did because one of my original ones became horribly scratched in a faulty drive years ago). If I hadn't, I'd have to spend a princely sum to get an MSDN subscription just to get a replacement application.
    <snip>.
    If you want to be able to save and then burn discs as needed, I recommend freeware ImgBurn, you can make an image file (*iso : single file disk backup) and store it on a hdd somewhere, then burn it back to CD/DVD as needed.

    *ISO image file
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISO_image

    ImgBurn
    http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=Download

    The UI takes a little getting used to, but once you figure it out it's really easy to use.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    44

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    I like this API viewer more than the original:

    http://www.activevb.de/rubriken/apiv...viewereng.html

  17. #17

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Rob

    Don't forget that at the end of the VB6 Install, you use the MSDN CDs (or DVD if you begged MS at the time- Oct 2000 was a good year) to install the integrated Help file (the only way to live)
    That somewhat begs the question .. which should
    I install 1st?

    .. MSDN Library Visual Studio 6.0
    .. MS VisualBasic 6.0 Professional Edition

    Thoughts?

    Spoo

  18. #18
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5,789

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Always have done the VB6 first ((I own Visual STUDIO 6.0 Professional, and at the end of the VB6 install (or any of the APPs on my CD's (like Visual FoxPro which I simply found a GREAT tool when I was learning programming)), I am prompted to (Yes or No?), install MSDN. PROBABLY works the same way with your MS VisualBasic 6.0.

  19. #19
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    880

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by Spooman View Post
    Rob
    That somewhat begs the question .. which should
    I install 1st?
    .. MSDN Library Visual Studio 6.0
    .. MS VisualBasic 6.0 Professional Edition
    Thoughts?
    Spoo
    VB6 first
    And MSDN (Help) immediately after.
    As I recall, there is a prompt at the end of the VB6 install.
    Rob

  20. #20

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    OK guys, the consensus seems to be VB6 first.

    One additional matter regarding Control Panel folders

    The new box has, on the C: drive, among other folders

    + Program Files
    ...... Microsoft Office 15

    The old box has

    + Program Files
    .... + Microsoft Office
    .... + Microsoft SQL Server
    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio
    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003
    .... + Microsoft Works
    .... + Microsoft .NET

    The Microsoft Visual Studio would seem to
    correspond with MSDN Library Visual Studio 6.0.

    Any thoughts as to why there is no apparent corresponding
    folder for Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 ?

  21. #21
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,494

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    VB6 is/was located under Microsoft Visual Studio in a folder called VB98.
    Don't forget is almost 20 years old, MS has in the meanwhile changed some of their folder structures.

    Why do you bother about what kind of folders are created in Program Files?

  22. #22

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Wink Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Arnoutdv

    First, let me confirm the subfolder you mentioned.

    The old box has

    + Program Files
    .... + Microsoft Office
    .... + Microsoft SQL Server
    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio
    .... .... + COMMON
    .... .... + MSDN98
    .... .... + VB98
    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003
    .... + Microsoft Works
    .... + Microsoft .NET

    As to ..

    Why do you bother about what kind of folders are created in Program Files?
    .. simple .. I've never done this before and was unclear
    about the Install process.

    When I bought my old box, all of the Installing was done
    by the manufacturer. They also sent me the disks.

    Thus, I was uncertain as to whether or not I had to create
    the various subfolders.

    My current impression is that the Install process does all
    of that automatically.

    Does that sound right?

  23. #23
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,494

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Yes, I never had to create any folders. It's all done by the VS installer.

  24. #24

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    OK. Thanks.
    Will keep you posted

  25. #25

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Guys

    Sorry for being so pedantic about this, but I'm
    now fixated on the load VB6 first concept.

    Again .. my old box's sub-folders

    + Program Files
    .... + Microsoft Office
    .... + Microsoft SQL Server
    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio
    .... .... + COMMON
    .... .... + MSDN98
    .... .... + VB98
    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003
    .... + Microsoft Works
    .... + Microsoft .NET


    on the new box

    If, in fact, VB6 will be put into a VB98 subfolder,
    doesn't that suggest that I should install
    MSDN Library Visual Studio 6.0 first?

    Otherwise, if I try to install VB6 first, how would the

    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio
    .... .... + COMMON
    .... .... + MSDN98
    .... .... + VB98
    .... + Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003

    folders be created on the new box?

  26. #26
    Hyperactive Member PlausiblyDamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Newport, UK
    Posts
    300

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    The installers will create the folders they need, it is what installers do. If you install VB6 first it will create all the things VB6 needs and then when you install the MSDN Library it will create the folders it needs.

    I have no idea if the order of installation matters but I have always installed VB6 first and then MSDN, IIRC the disks used to be numbered in that order and I think it prompted for MSDN after VB had installed,

  27. #27
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    11,632

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    I don't think it matters as far as the MSDN goes. The service pack of course requires VB6 be installed before the SP

    The bigger issue is just getting VB6 to install properly under Windows 10 so you can install the SP afterwards.

    I've not installed it under 10 myself. I had it on 7 and then upgraded to 10
    There were some issues installing on Windows 8 and as far as I know those same issues apply to Windows 10

    There have been several threads here related to this and of course there is a lot of info on the web about it.
    I would suggest doing a search before trying to install VB6 so you can get it right the first time and not have to repeat it.

  28. #28

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    PlausiblyDamp

    Thanks for that.

    However, given DataMiser's post, may I ask .. were your
    installs on Windows 10?

  29. #29
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5,789

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    MINE have been on every platform of Windows (almost) since VB6 came out...up to Windows 10. Easy enough to do...just (like mentioned above), do a search on this forum for "VB6 on Windows 10". Just a couple of tricks needed, but it should work fine for you...has for many others on this forum.

    Sammi

  30. #30
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    880

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    You said -
    "doesn't that suggest that I should install MSDN Library Visual Studio 6.0 first?"

    The VB6 Help files were only made available via the MSDN discs.
    So from my perspective the only reason that I used the MSDN discs, was to install the Help
    1) Install VB6 from the discs that came in the box
    2) Put MSDN disc(s) in, ONLY to install the VB6 Help

    Rob

  31. #31

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Sammi

    I did a search using "VB6 on Windows 10", found one with
    a very similar heading, but it was created in 2014 and much
    discussion seemed to involve poo-pooing of Windows 10.

    Can you point to one that contain the "couple of tricks needed"

    Rob, etal

    I tried installing VB6 first. I stepped through about 12 different
    screens (including entering the CD Key on the back of the disk
    container) and succeeded in getting to the following screen:

    Visual Basic 6.0 Professional Setup
    .. with a dialogue box stating Setup is updating your system.

    Good news?
    Dunno.

    After sitting there for 2 hours (the cursor is a small rotating circle)
    I gave up.

    Any thoughts?

    Spoo

  32. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    44

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by Spooman View Post
    Sammi

    I did a search using "VB6 on Windows 10", found one with
    a very similar heading, but it was created in 2014 and much
    discussion seemed to involve poo-pooing of Windows 10.

    Can you point to one that contain the "couple of tricks needed"

    Rob, etal

    I tried installing VB6 first. I stepped through about 12 different
    screens (including entering the CD Key on the back of the disk
    container) and succeeded in getting to the following screen:

    Visual Basic 6.0 Professional Setup
    .. with a dialogue box stating Setup is updating your system.

    Good news?
    Dunno.

    After sitting there for 2 hours (the cursor is a small rotating circle)
    I gave up.

    Any thoughts?

    Spoo
    This looks thorough enough to get you going.

    http://www.fortypoundhead.com/showco...sp?artid=23993

    If it works and your IDE is really sluggish, on my w7 x64 checking this, "Disable Desktop Composition" made the IDE just as responsive as it was on XP.

  33. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    44

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Similar install instructions, look thorough:

    https://www.raymond.cc/blog/install-...hine-for-java/

  34. #34
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5,789

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Yes. Reboot....I'll bet VB6 is installed.

  35. #35
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5,789

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Unless you uncheck the DataEnvironment option during that install process, the system will appear to 'hang'. But after a reboot, you should see VB6 in the appropriate directory (under program files???). Next, you'll need to install the Service Pack(s). Instructions are out there for that as well.

    Let us know if VB6 installed.

  36. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    44

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by SamOscarBrown View Post
    Yes. Reboot....I'll bet VB6 is installed.
    Great idea! LOL

  37. #37
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    16,348

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    There is no reason to deselect the DataEnvironment, it installs just fine and works great. You need it for anything but trivial database programs, especially if you use DataReports. What you want to deselect are ADO and related items which are already installed as part of Windows.

    Installing VB 6.0 isn't that hard.

    The main thing is that both phases need to be run elevated, and if it whines about the MSJVM just OK the complaining dialog. It is pretty easy to fail if the second phase starts unelevated. So you may need to kill it when it starts and then manually run it elevated.

    Once this completes you are not done because you must ensure that VB6.exe always runs elevated. This is easy enough since you need a few more appcompat shims to make it work properly anyway.

    See post #13 in Win10 AppCompat VB6 IDE.

  38. #38
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5,789

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Mea Culpa...I meant, Data Access, not DataEnvironment. Anyway...one may not need to uncheck Data Access...All I know is that for the last 3 installs I have done, if I didn't uncheck it, the system seems to 'hang' (although the basic part of VB6 IS installed---as seen after a reboot). There are other guidance about running elevated as Administrator and stuff about the Java File (creating a 'blank' file-so that a second reboot is not necessary when it gets to a certain point), but there are also other 'suggestions' out there. Would be nice probably to put in the codebank (an expert like dile, for example) to LIST each step that needs to be taken for installing on Win 7, 8 and 10. Maybe that exists out there, but I haven't found such a step by step. All I DO know is that many are experiencing issues when trying to install this 1998 product on 21st Century Windows platforms. Being an OLD man, I always forget the steps I took for successful installs--wish I had written them down...Win XX will probably be out in the near future.

  39. #39

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    Guys

    Some progress..

    1. Did a reboot
    2. Created a shortcut for the .vbp file
    3. Clicked the shortcut

    The general VB6 window appears .. a beginning !!
    .. 1. Options bar appears across the top .. eg, File..Edit..View etc
    .. 2. Controls menu appears at left .. Timer..Checkbox..Optionbox etc
    .. 3. The default toolbar appears .. Add Form..Save Project.. etc

    Promising.

    However, to the right of the Visual Component Manager icon,
    the textbox reads "Loading ..."

    and I get the following dialogue box:

    Error accessing the system registry
    1. OK
    2. Help

    If I click OK I get ..

    Continue Loading Project?
    1. Yes
    2. No
    3. Help

    I clicked No .. to be safe.

    2 other bits of information ..

    1. I have not attempted to get SP5 .. don't know how
    2. I have not loaded the MSDN disk yet

    Any thoughts?

    Spoo

  40. #40

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    101

    Re: Running VB6 on Windows 10

    PS

    I just did a search on "SP5" and "SP 5" and got no hits

    Spoo

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.