Edit posts using IE-VBForums
Results 1 to 33 of 33

Thread: Edit posts using IE

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Powered By Medtronic dbasnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pointless Forest 38.517,-92.023
    Posts
    8,911

    Edit posts using IE

    When trying to edit a post using IE v 11 the post only partially shows up in the editor and the buttons to submit changes or cancel are missing.
    My First Computer -- Documentation Link (RT?M) -- Using the Debugger -- Prime Number Sieve
    Counting Bits -- Subnet Calculator -- UI Guidelines -- SerialPort Answer

    "Those who use Application.DoEvents have no idea what it does and those who know what it does never use it." John Wein
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin
    "It is not all that I know that is the problem, it is all I think I do that is."

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    I too experience the same thing using same browser; if I use Google Chrome then I don't experience this issue.

  3. #3
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Quote Originally Posted by dday9 View Post
    i too experience the same thing using same browser; if i use google chrome then i don't experience this issue.
    testing...

    EDIT: I don't have the issue with IE11 on Win 10 machine.
    "If you are drinking to forget.... Please pay in advance."

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Powered By Medtronic dbasnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pointless Forest 38.517,-92.023
    Posts
    8,911

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    testing...

    EDIT: I don't have the issue with IE11 on Win 10 machine.
    The machine I was using is Windows 8 FWIW.
    My First Computer -- Documentation Link (RT?M) -- Using the Debugger -- Prime Number Sieve
    Counting Bits -- Subnet Calculator -- UI Guidelines -- SerialPort Answer

    "Those who use Application.DoEvents have no idea what it does and those who know what it does never use it." John Wein
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin
    "It is not all that I know that is the problem, it is all I think I do that is."

  5. #5
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    I have the issue on Windows 8.1, I'm not sure which edition, but I'll post tomorrow.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    I was mistaken, the I do have the issue on Windows 10. These are the specs:

    Windows 10 Pro
    64-bit OS, x64-based processor
    Internet Explorer 11.576.14393.0

  7. #7
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Testing with Win 7 - IE11

    EDIT: Works fine.

  8. #8
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    I've tried all three options under General Settings->Miscellaneous Options -> Message Editor Interface
    "If you are drinking to forget.... Please pay in advance."

  9. #9
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    I should mention that I cannot give reputation using IE either. Here is a screen shot of both attempting to edit a post and attempting to rep a post:
    Name:  ie issue.jpg
Views: 194
Size:  20.7 KB

  10. #10
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    It'd be nice if you'd SIGN OFF the site to kill the cookie here... Clear your cache etc...

    IE Internet Options->Advanced tab has a reset button....if you're brave, it'd be nice if you did the reset.

    EDIT: Also, make a post and UNselect show signature.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    This is a test after logging out, clicking the 'reset' button, resetting my computer, and unselecting show signature(though I think that it's a ruse to not show my little bug).

    Edit #1 - It has successfully allowed me to edit my post.
    Edit #2 - It has successfully allowed me to give reputation too.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Unfortunately after 1 post, it has gone back to where I cannot edit post, give reputation, and I also remembered that I failed to mention that it also will not "refresh" the page after I post.

  13. #13
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    If you remove your signature does that fix it?

    If so, you could play around with the "SETTING" ->Thread Display Options->Visible Post Elements-> Show Signatures (you could display your signature but not see anyones)

    You could also remove a section at a time to see if you can find the offending one.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Here is a thread that I started in the Forum Test Area: http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.p...plorer-11-Test

    The first post was just a regular post after I logged out, clicking the 'reset' button, resetting my computer, but kept the "Show My Signature" option checked.

    The second post was immediately after the first only this time I unchecked the "Show My Signature"

    The third post was immediately after the second only this time I went to Settings -> General Settings -> Thread Display Options -> Visible Post Elements -> Unchecked "Show Signatures"

    None of them allowed me to edit the post. None of the "refreshed" after I posted. I cannot test reputation in Forum Test Area.

  15. #15

    Thread Starter
    Powered By Medtronic dbasnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pointless Forest 38.517,-92.023
    Posts
    8,911

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Still having this problem. IE v 11, Windows 8.
    My First Computer -- Documentation Link (RT?M) -- Using the Debugger -- Prime Number Sieve
    Counting Bits -- Subnet Calculator -- UI Guidelines -- SerialPort Answer

    "Those who use Application.DoEvents have no idea what it does and those who know what it does never use it." John Wein
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin
    "It is not all that I know that is the problem, it is all I think I do that is."

  16. #16
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    If it will make you feel any better, if I use the Reply with Quotes option - my space bar won't work

    dbasnett - try posting without your signature to see if that helps.

  17. #17
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    If it will make you feel any better, if I use the Reply with Quotes option - my space bar won't work

    dbasnett - try posting without your signature to see if that helps.
    And changing my Editor Interface from Enhanced to Standard fixed my space bar issue.

    Message Editor Interface:
    Enhanced Interface - Full WYSIWYG Editing
    Basic Editor - A simple text box
    Standard Editor - Extra formatting controls

  18. #18

    Thread Starter
    Powered By Medtronic dbasnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pointless Forest 38.517,-92.023
    Posts
    8,911

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Test without signature. Will try to edit.

  19. #19

    Thread Starter
    Powered By Medtronic dbasnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pointless Forest 38.517,-92.023
    Posts
    8,911

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Quote Originally Posted by dbasnett View Post
    Test without signature. Will try to edit.
    Nope. Tried deleting cookies and restarting and that did not work. Getting new machine at work soon. Will be curious if I still have the same issue. The new machine will be Win 10.
    My First Computer -- Documentation Link (RT?M) -- Using the Debugger -- Prime Number Sieve
    Counting Bits -- Subnet Calculator -- UI Guidelines -- SerialPort Answer

    "Those who use Application.DoEvents have no idea what it does and those who know what it does never use it." John Wein
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin
    "It is not all that I know that is the problem, it is all I think I do that is."

  20. #20
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    I've tried all three options under General Settings->Miscellaneous Options -> Message Editor Interface
    Have you tried playing with these settings?

  21. #21
    Fanatic Member Spooman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    736

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Steve

    I am also having problems.
    I am also using IE 11

    Message Editor Interface:
    Enhanced Interface - Full WYSIWYG Editing
    Basic Editor - A simple text box
    Standard Editor - Extra formatting controls
    Where do I go to see these options?

    BTW, I tried Reply With Quote to your post #17
    but only part of it was shown in the Quick Reply
    box.

    I ended up manually typing QUOTE and \QUOTE
    (with brackets) and cutting and pasting from
    your post to accomplish the effect.

    Spoo

  22. #22
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    39,249

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Quote Originally Posted by Spooman View Post
    Where do I go to see these options?
    Go to the "Settings" link at the top of any page, then in the list on the left select "General Settings".

    It is in the "Miscellaneous Options" section near the bottom.

  23. #23
    Fanatic Member Spooman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    736

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Si

    Yes, thanks, I found it

    Message Editor Interface:
    .. Enhanced Interface - Full WYSIWYG Editing
    .. Basic Editor - A simple text box
    .. Standard Editor - Extra formatting controls

    Mine is defaulted to Standard Editor, which is
    what Steve seemed to suggest, and yet the problem
    persists.

    Suggestions?

    Spoo

  24. #24
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Try the BASIC option.

  25. #25
    Fanatic Member Spooman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    736

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Steve

    Just reset to the BASIC option

    Let's see how it works when I click on Post Quick Reply

    Spoo

  26. #26
    Fanatic Member Spooman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    736

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Steve

    NOPE

    Post did not appear.
    I had to re-enter the room

    Spoo

  27. #27
    Fanatic Member Spooman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    736

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Steve

    Furthermore, when I clicked on Edit Post I got
    an incomplete listing of the post.

    To exit, I clicked on the <- button at top left
    of browser to go back, I get a error statement

    Session has expired

    .. or something to that effect, and I had to
    relaunch IE.

    Spoo

  28. #28
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    867

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Some of the settings that I always use to prevent issues like these are:

    Tools, Internet Options, Advanced tab:
    Use software rendering instead of GPU rendering selected.

    Tools Internet Options, General Tab, Browsing History section, Settings button:
    Website Data Settings, Temporary Internet Files tab:
    Check for newer versions of stored pages set to: Every time I visit the webpage

    Microsoft is notorious for resetting these two settings every time a security update to IE is applied.

  29. #29
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    9,150

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    Some of the settings that I always use to prevent issues like these are:

    Tools, Internet Options, Advanced tab:
    Use software rendering instead of GPU rendering selected.

    Tools Internet Options, General Tab, Browsing History section, Settings button:
    Website Data Settings, Temporary Internet Files tab:
    Check for newer versions of stored pages set to: Every time I visit the webpage

    Microsoft is notorious for resetting these two settings every time a security update to IE is applied.
    I applied those two changes with no success.

  30. #30
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    867

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    I will have to compare the settings on my home PC with those on my work PC. IE11 is working properly at work, but not at home at present. Of course, the situation has been reversed in the past. If I find anything, I'll update this thread.

  31. #31
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    867

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    It was working again at home last night for me, and I checked the two settings I listed above and they were still set on my home PC. I will have to check through the other IE settings to see if there is anything else that might be the cause.

    One possible idea for why it happens some times and not other times is that the code for the various ads varies, and that some of them have code that interferes with the proper display of the actual forum page data and buttons.

  32. #32
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    752

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    If the issue were tied to ads....I think more people would have the problems...And the people that always have the problem would have good days.

    It'd be interesting to know if any of the ad blocking software helps?

  33. #33
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    867

    Re: Edit posts using IE

    Steve,

    Ad blocking might be a possible answer. My work computer blocks a lot of (but not all) ads, but this is not done on the client computer level with browser extensions, but rather at the company level via a proxy server. I could try an ad blocker on my home computer to see what happens. The tough part is that the issue is usually intermittent. Also, I don't know if that would help with the issue where the page does not auto-refresh when I add a new post.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.