Thread: [RESOLVED] Advice on tools to use for andriod development

Hybrid View

PowerPoster

Resolved [RESOLVED] Advice on tools to use for andriod development

I am thinking of taking the plunge into writing for android and am wondering what tool I should use.

I have lots of experience in Basic, Visual Basic Classic and Visual Basic .Net
    I have did some coding in C/C++ Pascal and Java Script but not a lot.
    I have did a lot of mobile apps that run under windows mobile and windows CE as well as a few for the Palm OS back in the day and way back in the day some for those mobile devices that were running under DR Dos.

So the question is is there a good tool out there that resembles Visual Basic or Visual Basic .Net or should I just go ahead and try to jump to C++ for this. I guess Java is also an option but given the syntax and learning curve I'm thinking C++ may be the better choice.

Still I would love to find something a little less foreign to me.

Thoughts?

Re: Advice on tools to use for andriod development

Some resources I've used to get started with:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!fo...oid-developers
    https://www.androidpit.com/forum/and...general/recent
    http://androidforums.com/forums/appl...evelopment.28/
    https://developer.android.com/studio/index.html

that last one is probably the one of most interest... it's a link to the official android IDE studio...

It looks like you can use either C/C++ or Java with it, so if you're more comfortable with C++, have at it.

There maybe something that resembles VB/Vb.NET that does a translation to C/C++/Java, but I'm not sure.

-tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *