Thread: [Serious] Help Me!!! Programmer With No Experience Seeking a Job!!!

Hybrid View

[Serious] Help Me!!! Programmer With No Experience Seeking a Job!!!

Well I'm stuck in a visuous cycle. I work two dead end jobs, have no degree, and I'm not happy. Yet I've been programming as a hobbyist for 25 years now since I was 10. I'm 35 now. I've never been able to get a job in it unfortunately. Yet I apply everywhere here in Miami with zero success. As most of you know, I code in C++, C, C#, VB.Net, Java, Android based Java, and VB6. My resume looks awful. Its graphically impressive but not impressive with whats written. So when I apply for programming jobs, I'm in competition with other programmers with bachelors degrees and experience. Another thing that really ticks me off is that 90 percent of the programming jobs here are web based programming mixed with SQL data base programming. Problem with that for me is, its not what I want to do. I want to make software, and that is what I'm good at. I don't wanna resort to learn Ruby on Rails, SQL scripting, CSS, HTML5, javascript, Angular JS, JQuery, with a mix of ASP.Net just to be stuck doing what I don't wanna do.

So with no real world job experience in programming, what do you people recommend I do? I do have some college. Only 8 classes to go just to get an Associates degree, but I work so much that there is no time for me to go sadly, which is why I'm heavily looking for a job in making software. Thanks

Re: [Serious] Help Me!!! Programmer With No Experience Seeking a Job!!!

A degree doesn't mean a thing if they know what you can do. Your problem sounds like it's an inability to show what you can do. A resume is a sheet of paper. It's dead and static, unlike a program. Even worse, it's going to an HR person in many cases, who will be checking off boxes. You don't meet the criteria for some of those boxes, so if all they know is checking off boxes, you won't do well.