Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Confused about listbox. how to read one variable at a time

PowerPoster

Confused about listbox. how to read one variable at a time

The question probably sounds nuts, but I've never worked with listboxes before. This is what I need to know how to do. When you use a For Each item in listbox.Items , each "item" holds the entire string for that row.

here's an example, if this helps
    Code:
    For Each item In lstContacts.Items
       MsgBox(item) 'entire row is output to the msgbox
    Next

Is need a way to break down that "item" string and turn it back into fields like it was when it was entered into the listbox. It was entered using a tiny array(4).

any help appreciated. And Please! Get me out of UI land, lol

Re: Confused about listbox. how to read one variable at a time

Can you show the array you bound to the listbox and how you set the displaymember?
    Assuming you did bind it, you cast the selecteditem to the type and access the fields through that.

PowerPoster

Hi Paul, good to hear from you. Here's my code, but you have to promise not to laugh, well, at least not "too" loud.

Code:
      Private Sub btnListView_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles btnListView.Click

lView.lstView.View = View.Details
                Dim fixedSize As Short = 140

If Not doneOnce Then
                    With lView.lstView.Columns
                        .Add("to fool First Name Column", 0, HorizontalAlignment.Left)
                        .Add("First Name", fixedSize, HorizontalAlignment.Left)
                        .Add("Last Name", fixedSize, HorizontalAlignment.Left)
                        .Add("Phone Number", fixedSize, HorizontalAlignment.Left)
                        .Add("Birthday", fixedSize, HorizontalAlignment.Left)
                    End With
                End If
                doneOnce = True 'only create columns once

MsgBox(item)
                Try
                    Dim objStr(4) As String