Thread: VB express edition vs VB6

VB express edition vs VB6

Hi all

I am new to VB I wonder what will suit me more to start VB6 or VB express for desktop .
    Main usage will be doing small databases for my csutomes ,
    The main question is : is VB express coding (for databeses apps) more hard to learn the VB 6 ?

I used in the past DELHI .

Vb express
    https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/p...xpress-vs.aspx

Thanks
    Elico

Re: VB express edition vs VB6

It might be argued that VB.NET is a bit harder to learn but not excessively so. Regardless of what other pros and cons each may have, I don't really know why you would choose to go with a language for which the last version was released almost two decades ago and is no longer officially supported by its creator. Apart from that, you still can't legally get the VB6 IDE for free while both the Express editions and the Community edition of recent VS versions for .NET are free.

You don't want to know.

In short, I can't ethically recommend starting with VB6 to a professional. It should scare you that the answer to, "Will the Windows that comes after Windows 10 support VB6?" is, "We have to wait until Microsoft confirms." Moving from VB6 to VB .NET is actually a little harder than just picking up VB .NET to begin with, because you have to unlearn a few things that will be a real drag to "lose". My opinion as a 10-year .NET developer is many of those features are great for small, easy projects and horrible traps on large, hard projects. For some reason we only use the small ones when comparing languages.

But, more importantly, time has marched on. We've learned a lot about programming in 15 years, and VB .NET has new features like lambda functions that represent what we think makes a modern programming language effective. VB6 will never get new features. It still represents the best of 1999's software engineering. That is still good, but the best of 2015's engineering is better.