Thread: Check byte array for no value

Check byte array for no value

I'm trying to work out the following:

dim myarray(1 to 5) as byte

myarray(1) = "a"
    myarray(2) = "b"

How do i check if myarray(3) has nothing in it?

This is my first time working with byte arrays and from what I can work out, a byte array assigns a 0 (zero) to each variable when I declare the array. Therefore if it has something in it.... I can't work out how to check if it has nothing in it. How do I solve this? Thanks.

Re: Check byte array for no value

If you are going to assign string characters to an array, the array is declared As String, not As Byte
    Code:
    Dim myArray(1 to 5) As String
    myArray(1)="a"
    myArray(2)="b"
    If myArray(3) = vbNullString Then ' nothing assigned
    numeric arrays contain numeric values, string arrays contain string values
    Insomnia is just a byproduct of, "It can't be done"

Classics Enthusiast? Here's my 1969 Mustang Mach I Fastback. Her sister '67 Coupe has been adopted

Newbie? Novice? Bored? Spend a few minutes browsing the FAQ section of the forum.
    Read the HitchHiker's Guide to Getting Help on the Forums.
    Here is the list of TAGs you can use to format your posts
    Here are VB6 Help Files online

{Alpha Image Control} {Memory Leak FAQ} {Unicode Open/Save Dialog} {Resource Image Viewer/Extractor}
    {VB and DPI Tutorial} {Manifest Creator} {UserControl Button Template} {stdPicture Render Usage}

Oh crap, sorry LaVolpe, no I'm putting hexadecimal values into the variables (myarray(1) = &HC0)

Then you have no way of knowing whether the array item has been assigned or not because a valid value is &H0

You may need to use a 2D array where 1D is for the values and the 2D is a 1 or 0 indicating value has been assigned. Other tracking mechanisms could work, including using an integer array and using the high byte to determine whether or not assignment made. 1D array of Integers = same size as 2D array of bytes