dcsimg

Thread: New Programmer, need help

Lively Member

New Programmer, need help

I am new to programming and am taking a vb.net class. I need help on an assignment. Below is the code I have written so far. I have to labels that are supposed to output the total rooms occupied in the hotel, and the total occupancy rate. Also, an input box comes up when btnReport is clicked. The user inputs the number of rooms occupied on that floor and then in the list box it displays the number of rooms occupied on that floor and the occupancy rate for that particular floor. The program has no problem getting the rooms occupied for each floor and no problem accumulating the total rooms occupied, but for all of my percentages I keep getting 0. I need to know what I am doing wrong that is causing only 0 percentages.

Here is my code:

Option Strict On
    Option Explicit On
    Public Class frmHotelOccupancy
    Private Sub btnReport_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles btnReport.Click
    Dim shoCount As Short = 1
    Dim strOccupiedRooms As String = CStr(0)
    Const ROOMS_ON_FLOOR As Short = 30
    Const PERCENT As Short = 100
    Dim decOccupancyRate As Decimal = CDec((CShort(strOccupiedRooms) / ROOMS_ON_FLOOR) * PERCENT)
    Dim shoTotalRoomsOcc As Short = 0
    Dim decTotalOccRate As Decimal

decTotalOccRate = CDec((shoTotalRoomsOcc / 240) * PERCENT)

For shoCount = 1 To 8
    strOccupiedRooms = InputBox("Please Enter the Number of Occupied Rooms for floor " & shoCount & ".", "Hotel Occupancy")
    lstRoomInput.Items.Add("Floor:" & shoCount.ToString & " Rooms Occupied:" & strOccupiedRooms & " Occupancy Rate:" &
    decOccupancyRate.ToString & "%")
    shoTotalRoomsOcc += CShort(strOccupiedRooms)

Next
    lblRoomsOccupied.Text = shoTotalRoomsOcc.ToString
    lblOccupancyRate.Text = decTotalOccRate & "%"

End Sub

Private Sub btnExit_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles btnExit.Click
    Me.Close()
    End Sub