Thread: [Excel] Attempting to automate the keeping of stock and ordering, run-time error 1004

[Excel] Attempting to automate the keeping of stock and ordering, run-time error 1004

Hi, so I'm very new to coding in VB, and I'm sure there's an easy fix, but I just don't know enough yet. Basically, what I'm trying to get set up is a system of worksheets, each with an identical table, with one being blank to put in current stock, then one with the established minimum of each item that there can be in each supply room, an established maximum, and then another blank table that will show the number of each item that is needed to reach the maximum amount.

I know I could code it as one long, repetitive block of text wherein I just go through and compare each cell individually, but I'd prefer to do by way of nested loops, if possible, so that it compares a particular cell in the selected range for each worksheet, then if current stock is at or less than the minimum, it spits the difference needed into the correct cell of the order worksheet.

This is the code I've cobbled together so far, from the tutorials and help forums I've read on similar situations:

Code:
    Public Sub Compare()
    Sheets("Current Stock").Range("C3:J35").Select

Dim CompareRange1 As Variant, CompareRange2 As Variant, x As Variant, y As Variant, z As Variant
    Set CompareRange1 = Worksheets("Set Min").Range("C3:J35")
    Set CompareRange2 = Worksheets("Set Max").Range("C3:J35")

For Each x In Selection
        For Each y In CompareRange1
            For Each z In CompareRange2
                If x <= y Then
                    Dim currentadd As Variant
                    currentadd = ActiveCell.Address
                    Worksheets("Order").Range("currentadd").Value = z.Value - x.Value
                End If
             Next z
        Next y
    Next x

End Sub