Thread: [RESOLVED] Get files from Folder using timer event

Hyperactive Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Get files from Folder using timer event

Hi I am a newbie in VB.net. I would like to get the filename and path of txt files one at a time in a Folder after the timer event. Lets say I have a folder named C:\Test with text files inside, how can I get the file name and path then execute the timer for a period before getting the next file till all the files in the folder have been read ? Thanks

Re: Get files from Folder using timer event

You're looking at Timers incorrectly. You don't execute a Timer for a period. The Timer is either enabled or disabled and, if it's enabled, it will raise a Tick event at regular intervals, that being determined by the Interval property.

Also, your question doesn't really make sense as it's asked. Do you really mean that you want to get a list of files in a folder and then, on each Tick event, process one of those files in some way? To simply get a file path on each Tick as you have literally asked for doesn't really seem useful. I'm going to assume that you actually do mean to get a list of file paths initially and then process them one by one and suggest the following:

1. Create a Directory object for your folder and call its GetFiles method to get the list of file paths, putting that list into a Queue(Of String).
    2. Call the Start method of your Timer.
    3. On the Tick event of the Timer, call the Dequeue method of the queue to get the next file path and process it appropriately.
    4. When the last item is dequeued, call the Stop method of the Timer.

With regards to step 3, note that processing the file in the Tick event handler or a method called from the Tick event handler will mean that the processing occurs on the UI thread. That will freeze your UI and prevent any further Tick events being raised until the work completes. If the work takes any sort of significant time then it should be done on a secondary thread.