Thread: Pulling information from listbox

Pulling information from listbox

Can I get some generic code on how to pull information from a multiline listbox and display it in another listbox as one entry. (example) I choose 3 options from the first listbox and they display as so "Example0, Example1, Example2, Example3" in the other listbox

Re: Pulling information from listbox

Like any problem, break this one down into smaller parts. Getting multiple items from a ListBox is the same regardless of what you intend to do with them. Adding one item to a ListBox is the same regardless of where it comes from. The only thing that should be a mystery at all is the actual combination of three Strings into one, although that should really be all that mysterious either. What I would recommend is using the String.Join method, which will join multiple Strings into one with a specific delimiter between each pair.

I'm very new to vb so let me give u an example of my problem.

Code:
    Private Sub btnAdd_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnAdd.Click
            lbOrder.Items.Add(lbToppings.selecteditems)
    Currently this only displays "(collection)" in the Order listbox

I'm not 100% sure lbtoppings.selecteditems should even be used

I feel like this is very basic knowledge and I somehow missed it in class and now I'm struggling hard.

You didn't bother to digest what I already posted. I said that you should break it down into three parts:

1. Get the items from the first ListBox.
    2. Combine the items.
    3. Add the new item to the second ListBox.