Thread: cloning a branch of DOM tree with JavaScript

Question cloning a branch of DOM tree with JavaScript

[Folks, I’m new to web dev and JS, but not new to programming. This is for a personal project that I’m entertaining.]

I already know that there is a way to dynamically change a web page by moving a branch of a DOM tree and appending it to a different parent. Is there a way to clone a branch of a DOM tree and dynamically create HTML that way?

I have a specific scenario in mind: a table where a visitor can dynamically add and remove rows.

If cloning a branch is possible, it may be more efficient (less JavaScript code) than making lots of appendChild(…) calls for every node within the branch.

The only idea I had so far was newClone.innerHtml = templateTableRow.innerHtml;. But, I’ve read that innerHtml is may get deprecated, and it's generally frowned on. On the other hand, this kind of cloning may actually be a good use for innerHtml. Then again, what good will it be if innerHtml gets deprecated and browsers stop supporting it.

Re: cloning a branch of DOM tree with JavaScript

You do stuff like that with a library like jQuery so that you have cross-browser support.

Look at this string of jQuery methods

Code:
    $("#acs-label").clone().appendTo(strPanel + "-edit .acs-edit-top-tab").removeAttr("id").addClass("acs-edit-label").html("");
    $("#acs-label") - find ID #acs-label in the DOM - and return it in an array of items (will be just one item in that array since ID's are unique on a page).
    .clone() - clone it - make a copy of what was in the DOM - and return it
    .appendTo() - append what you just cloned to whatever "strPanel +..." resolves to in the DOM
    .removeAttr() - can't have another item with this ID name - better remove it
    .addClass() - add some CSS classes
    .html() - sets the HTML of this item (label) to "" (blank string)

*** Read the sticky in the DB forum about how to get your question answered quickly!! ***