Thread: [RESOLVED] text box - use value of number for equation

Resolved [RESOLVED] text box - use value of number for equation

Hi,

I am very new to VB (have 2010) , already love it....

I am just making a small calculator, and it is working in all aspects as intended, except 1 code line...

TextBox4.Text = (TextBox7.Text + TextBox8.Text)

I want the display in textbox4 to show the value of the numbers in textox7 + textbox8

where tb7 is 10 and tb8 is 1, I get a result of 101 , I need a result of 11

I have tried various options, some don't work, but those that do, all show the 101 (which seems 10 + 1 in string, not in numerical value,

could any person please give me some advice on this,

many thanks.

Tim Grindlay. NZ

Re: text box - use value of number for equation

If you want to add numbers then you need numbers to add. The Text property of a TextBox is type String. Just because that String contains numeric characters does not make it a number. You need convert the Strings to a numeric type to perform the arithmetic.

By the way, you should start right now giving all your controls and everything else meaningful names. You should never have TextBox4, TextBox7 and TextBox8 in your code. The variables names should tell you what they are for.

Re: text box - use value of number for equation

Hi Jm,

Thanks for the reply, I absolutely love this software... have been doing these things in Excel (which I love), but can be cumbersome for some things...

as it was my first post, the moderator had to review... in the meantime, just tried very simply:
    TextBox4.Text = (TextBox7.Text + 1)

worked perfectly -

I have noted the comment re. meaningful names... thanks.... looking forward to more VB (not Victoria bitter)...

Re: [RESOLVED] text box - use value of number for equation

Hi,