Thread: [RESOLVED] VB6 Input Validation to Disallow an All Alpha Character Field

Hyperactive Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] VB6 Input Validation to Disallow an All Alpha Character Field

Hello Everyone;

I'm a new vb6 programmer (I know I'm late to the game) who's developing an application that requires an input field (textbox) that only allows all numeric or alphanumeric content. But it must disallow fields that are character only. Right now this is what I have, but it doesn't disallow all character fields:

Code:
    If KeyAscii = 13 Then                   '<= Pressed ENTER key
            If strISBN = "" Then
                MsgBox "Please key an ISBN or scan a bar code"
            ElseIf Len(strISBN) < 10 Then
                MsgBox "You entered too few characters"
                Call modClearFrm1MainMenu.modClearFrm1MainMenu
            ElseIf Len(strISBN) = 11 Or Len(strISBN) = 12 Then
                MsgBox "You entered an invalid ISBN"
            ElseIf Len(strISBN) > 13 Then
                MsgBox "You entered too many characters"
            Else
                bValidISBN = True
            End If
        Else
            If (KeyAscii <> 3 And KeyAscii <> 8 And KeyAscii <> 22) Then
                If KeyAscii < 47 Or (KeyAscii > 57 And KeyAscii < 65) Then
                    MsgBox "You may only enter numbers and letters"
                ElseIf (KeyAscii > 90 And KeyAscii < 97) Then
                ElseIf KeyAscii > 122 Then
                End If
            End If
        End If
    If a user either keys or does a copy and paste of all alpha characters into my input field, the above code will not catch it. Can anyone offer any suggestions?

Re: VB6 Input Validation to Disallow an All Alpha Character Field

Without suggesting an immediate solution to your problem, let me suggest a change of direction.