Thread: [RESOLVED] Replacing Elements of An Array with Elements from Another Array (VB.NET)

Resolved [RESOLVED] Replacing Elements of An Array with Elements from Another Array (VB.NET)

Hello bosses!
    I created arrays of string values in two textboxes. For each element of the array in Textbox2, I want to loop through Textbox1 to find if there is any element in textbox1 that is completely contained in any of the Textbox2 array elements. If there is any such situation(there'll be many of them), I want the longer string in textbox2 to replace the contained Textbox1 element at its position in textbox1. The problem I have is NOTHING HAPPENS when I click my button with the code below. Help me please, I am a newbie.

IILLUSTRATION:
    If Textbox1 initially contains
    CLB035 8/30/2014 11:23
    CLB041 8/30/2014 16:03
    CLB042 8/24/2014 13:52
    CLB043 8/30/2014 11:23

Textbox2 contains
    CLB041 8/30/2014 16:03 8/30/2014 16:16
    CLB042 8/24/2014 13:52 8/24/2014 18:49

EXPECTED RESULT
    Textbox1 should now contain
    CLB035 8/30/2014 11:23
    CLB041 8/30/2014 16:03 8/30/2014 16:16
    CLB042 8/24/2014 13:52 8/24/2014 18:49
    CLB043 8/30/2014 11:23

Here's my code

Public Class Form1
    Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
    Dim aryreport() As String = TextBox1.Text.Split(vbCrLf)
    Dim aryserver() As String = TextBox2.Text.Split(vbCrLf)
    For i As Integer = 0 To UBound(aryreport)
    Dim reporter As String = aryreport(i)
    For j As Integer = 0 To UBound(aryserver)
    Dim alldata As String = aryserver(j)
    If alldata.Contains(reporter) Then
    reporter = reporter.Replace(reporter, alldata)
    End If
    Next
    Next
    End Sub
    End Class

Re: Replacing Elements of An Array with Elements from Another Array (VB.NET)