Thread: Is there a limit / criteria in creating Foreign key in MySQL

Is there a limit / criteria in creating Foreign key in MySQL

Hi,
    I was trying to create foreign key. I have three tables T1, T2 and T3. ID of T1 is set as Primary Key, Non Null and Auto Increment. I want to make a relation between T1 and T2, T1 and T3. Whenever a new ID is created in T1 this has to be added in T2 and T3 (I think this is what the purpose of foreign key, I am just a beginner and don't know much). So I go to Alter Table and added the foreign key for T2 (I chose T1 as referenced table and T1's ID as referenced column) it was successfully created. I try to create the foreign key for T3, I chose T1 as referenced table and T1's ID as referenced column but I got an error as follows.

ERROR 1022: Can't write; duplicate key in table '#sql-894_1c'
    SQL Statement:
    ALTER TABLE `mydb`.`T3`
    ADD CONSTRAINT `IDs`
    FOREIGN KEY (`ID`)
    REFERENCES `mydb`.`T1` (`ID`)
    ON DELETE NO ACTION
    ON UPDATE NO ACTION

ERROR: Error when running failback script. Details follow.

ERROR 1050: Table 'T3' already exists
    SQL Statement:
    CREATE TABLE `T3` (
    `Designation` varchar(25) DEFAULT NULL,
    `Department` varchar(25) DEFAULT NULL,
    PRIMARY KEY (`ID`)
    ) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8

Then when I deleted the foreign key that was created for T2 and try again for T3 there was no errors and created successfully. Then I try creating for T2 I got the same error again. Can I create foreign key only for one table? Can I not refer to the T1's ID for T2 and T3?

Can you tell me what could possibly the reason for this error?

Thanks in advance.

Addicted Member

Re: Is there a limit / criteria in creating Foreign key in MySQL

If I recall it's because you have a constraint in your database already called "IDS" try changing the name of the constraints name to something on than "IDS"
    Last edited by smendoza; Sep 8th, 2014 at 07:17 PM. Reason: type o